关闭 世界杯 关闭 世界杯

当谈到以较低的价格访问无限音乐时,如今有很多应用程序提供此类功能。 但是,我想到的所有其他服务中最受欢迎的两项服务是 Apple Music 和 Spotify。

商店里有超过 50 万首歌曲,这两项服务都以其高质量的流媒体而闻名,这些服务以非常实惠的月度订阅费提供。 在得出结论之前,您可能想知道哪一个最适合您的手机或设备,有更好的歌曲收藏等等。

继续阅读以了解有关这两个音乐流媒体平台之间异同的更多信息,并自行决定。

内容

Apple Music vs Spotify:概述

Spotify与Apple Music概述

随着越来越多的服务出现在雷达上,音乐流媒体行业已经变得相当饱和。 尽管 Spotify 为该行业奠定了基础,但 Apple Music 已经能够赶上 Spotify 的成功。

Spotify 拥有超过 130 亿的 Premium 订阅者,众所周知,它的设计最终帮助音乐流媒体市场增长。 有了付费订阅者和免费订阅者,Spotify 似乎不会很快停止。 另一方面,Apple Music 最近才开始运营,并因其与 Apple iOS 和 Apple 设备兼容的所有功能而受到认可。 凭借人性化收音机、可供浏览的广泛图书馆、高级版本等功能,Apple Music 在美国已超过 Spotify。

这两项相互竞争的服务在一定程度上帮助了唱片业。 但是,越来越难以判断哪一个相对更好。

Spotify 目前在音乐流媒体领域已经确立了良好的地位,但近七年后问世的 Apple Music 绝不落后。 直播广播和云储物柜等服务使其竞争激烈,尽管这两种服务在某些方面是相似的。

Apple Music vs Spotify:用户界面和体验

即使背景颜色不同,Apple Music 和 Spotify 也因保持简单直观的用户界面而受到赞誉。 两个平台的界面都经过优化,易于导航。

如果您使用移动 Apple Music 和 Spotify 应用程序,您会在屏幕底部找到主选项卡,通常由收音机、搜索、库、播放列表、专辑等选项组成。

但是,两个平台的界面存在一些关键差异。 对于初学者来说,Spotify 经常在播放一些曲目时显示短视频和动画。 有些动画可以占据整个屏幕背景,有些歌曲的歌词也是可见的。

Spotify与Apple Music概述

另一方面,Apple Music的动画有限,但以 时间同步的歌词. Apple Music 甚至允许用户仅通过输入一段歌词来搜索特定歌曲。 当您不知道歌曲名称时,此功能特别有用。

苹果音乐歌词界面

就像 Spotify 一样,Apple Music 现在与 CarPlay 和 Android Auto 兼容。 使用这些音乐流媒体服务管理车辆的信息娱乐系统应该不会有任何问题。 Apple Music 在 For You 标签下也有非常有效的个性化选项。 它可以帮助您根据您的音乐品味优化推荐。

Apple Music vs Spotify:定价

尽管所有主要的音乐流媒体服务都提供每月 10 美元左右的行业标准价格,但定价方案仍有细微差别。

苹果音乐

Spotify

个人计划

$ 9.99 /月。

$ 9.99 /月。

家庭计划

$ 14.99 /月。

$ 14.99 /月。

学生计划

$ 4.99 /月。

$ 4.99 /月。

免费选项

没有

是的,带有广告

免费试用期

3个月

1个月

Spotify的费用是多少?

已知Spotify会收费 $9.99 对于他们的高级服务,但他们还提供带有一些警告的免费服务。

Spotify Free 用户可以通过广告免费流式传输音乐,他们被限制以随机播放模式收听他们选择的专辑和播放列表,并且还设置了跳过限制。 您将无法在一小时内跳过六次以上的歌曲,并且广告会不时弹出,然后中断您的音乐播放。

优质服务没有任何这些限制,对于周围的学生来说更便宜 $4.99 每月。 还有一个惊人的家庭计划,费用大约 $14.99 每月最多可容纳 6 位家庭成员。 此外,Spotify Premium 还集成了 Hulu 和 Showtime。 您还可以通过订阅他们的三个月试用期来试用高级服务。

Spotify与Apple Music定价

相比 Spotify Free vs Premium:

产品特点

Spotify自由

Spotify的高级

价格

$0

$ 4.99-$ 14.99 / mo。

广告

没有

离线听力

没有

最高音质

160 Kbps的

320 Kbps的

无限跳过

没有

Apple Music的价格是多少?

Apple Music最初希望为其提供高级服务 $5 每个月,但由于主要唱片公司的音乐而无法这样做。 与 Spotify 类似,Apple Music 也收费 $9.99 每月向用户提供,并且免费服务受到严格限制。 Apple Music 还提供家庭计划订阅,费用为 $14.99 每月最多6人。

Apple Music 的免费服务只允许用户访问 Beats1 收音机并浏览 iTunes 库以播放预购的曲目。 有一个单独的学生计划,只需花费 $4.99 每月。 此外,高级服务使您可以将应用程序链接到AppleTV +。

苹果音乐定价

Apple Music vs Spotify:音乐库

姓名:

曲目数量

苹果音乐

60万首歌曲

Spotify

超过五千万首歌曲

尽管Spotify和Apple Music因其庞大的音乐库而闻名 50亿60千万 歌曲分别,缺乏显着的独家。

Apple Music 以推出多张广受欢迎的专辑而闻名,但他们最近没有推出任何独家内容。 另一方面,Tidal 等其他主要音乐流媒体服务一直在发布独家内容,其中一些才刚刚开始出现在 Spotify 和 Apple Music 上。

除了独家内容外,这两个平台还因定期为用户提供早期访问某些专辑和歌曲而受到称赞。 Apple Music 的显着特点之一是它能够连接到 iCloud的音乐库. 这使用户可以在所有设备上从他们的库中选择歌曲。 您也可以在 Spotify 上播放您设备上的歌曲,但与 Apple Music 不同的是,这些歌曲都不会上传到云端。

Apple Music vs Spotify:音乐发现

在市场上所有备受赞誉的音乐流媒体服务中,Spotify 和 Apple Music 因其令人印象深刻的新旧音乐收藏而脱颖而出。 最重要的是,这两个平台都具有高度可定制的设置,可以帮助您了解适合您个人喜好的歌曲。

Spotify用户将被视为两个单独的名为 发现每周 发布雷达 通常每周都有新曲目。 Apple Music 每周还会将新音乐添加到一个名为的播放列表中 新音乐组合.

Spotify音乐探索

苹果音乐音乐发现

Spotify 和 Apple 音乐的音乐个性化设置都非常出色,而且它们也很容易配置。 这通常在您登录这两个应用程序时得到处理。 您将被关于您喜欢的艺术家和流派的问题轰炸,以更好地了解您所听的音乐类型。 虽然这个过程可能有点麻烦,但它可以准确地确定向用户推荐哪些歌曲。

此外,两个平台都可以根据您的选择生成适当的播放列表。

与 Apple Music 相比,Spotify 主要依靠其推荐算法来确定和创建您可能喜欢的歌曲的播放列表。 然而,一些用户倾向于仅仅因为其强大的用户策划内容而选择 Apple Music。 通过这种方式,用户可以了解他们正在寻找的最新音乐以及未发布的曲目。

Apple Music与Spotify:离线收听

苹果音乐

Spotify

下载限制

100,000歌曲

每台设备10,000首歌曲

设备限制

最多10设备

最多5设备

离线收听可能是我们在音乐流媒体服务中寻找的最重要的选择。 随着移动数据的价格逐渐上涨,用户在旅行时依靠下载的音乐变得更加经济。 此外,一些地区以蜂窝接收不良而闻名。 对于经常穿越这些地方的用户来说,离线收听可能是一个额外的好处。 幸运的是, Spotify 和 Apple Music 都支持离线音乐播放.

您可以同步 Apple Music 以在最多 10 台单独的设备上工作,并且可以下载近 100,000 首歌曲。 请记住,您从 Apple Music 下载的歌曲只有在您的订阅计划有效时才能播放。 更重要的是,您只能在 Apple 授权的设备上播放音乐。 一旦您停止订阅,您将失去整个音乐库。 但是使用类似的工具 TuneFab Apple Music 转换器,您可以轻松解决此问题,因为它将帮助您将整个 Apple Music 收藏备份到本地 PC,无需 DRM 加密。

与 Apple Music 相比,Spotify(Premium)最多只能同步 5 台设备,每台设备的下载限制约为 10,000 首歌曲。 由于此功能,可以在两个平台上下载大量原创歌曲、翻唱、视频内容甚至独家内容。 Spotify 甚至让用户可以访问他们令人印象深刻的播客选择,从而将其提升了一个档次。

由于您可以在 Apple Music 上下载的歌曲数量更多,因此对于每天高度依赖离线收听的人来说,它是一个更好的选择。 但是,如果您喜欢收听播客,Spotify 是您的不二之选,因为他们不断投资推出独家播客。

Apple Music vs SpotifyStreaming质量

苹果音乐

Spotify

流媒体质量

256 Kbps 音频格式

320 Kbps 奥格沃比斯

160 Kbps的

96 Kbps的

24 Kbps的

虽然一般用户不太重视音频流的质量,但对发烧友来说肯定很重要。

Apple Music以以下形式播放其所有曲目: 256 Kbps AAC文件. Apple 音乐没有提供可变的流媒体质量,这对于移动数据流量不足的人来说可能是个问题。 最重要的是,许多其他音乐流媒体服务可以流式传输 320 Kbps 的文件,这些文件具有更高的深度和更清晰的声音。

苹果音乐音频质量

与 Apple Music 相比,Spotify 使用 Ogg Vorbis 格式进行流媒体播放,并且能够为用户提供可变的流媒体质量。 如果您在智能手机上使用 Spotify,您应该能够从不同的流质量预设中进行选择,例如 低(24 Kbps), 正常 (96 Kbps), 高(160 Kbps)很高(320 Kbps).

但是,桌面上的 Spotify 用户只能选择 160 Kbps 和 320 Kbps 之间的比特率。 Spotify 可变的流媒体质量使该平台更加通用,并且对于那些缺乏足够蜂窝数据的人来说,它不会意外地停止音乐流媒体。

Spotify音质

Apple Music vs Spotify:社交共享

相对于其他音乐流媒体平台,Spotify 和 Apple Music 以提供丰富的社交分享功能而闻名,让您的音乐聆听体验充满乐趣和互动性。 你将能够 关注您最喜欢的艺术家 在这两个平台上并获得有关其最新版本的通知。 除此之外,您将能够看到他们所有的最新帖子以保持更新。 你也可以 跟随你的朋友 以及与Spotify和Apple Music的熟人。

尽管有相似之处,但许多用户表示,流行音乐家在发布更新方面更活跃于 Apple Music。 除此之外,只要您在 Facebook 上添加了您的朋友,您就可以在 Apple Music 上关注他们并实时观察他们的活动。 此外,Apple Music 有一个名为 Connect 的专有功能,其功能类似于 Twitter。 Connect 允许艺术家在他们的个人资料上为他们的追随者发布文本、照片和视频。

尽管 Spotify 缺少用于关注您喜爱的艺术家的 Twitter 风格的标签,但它可以让您实时观察朋友的活动。 您可以使用以下方式在您的朋友之间分享您喜欢的歌曲、专辑和播放列表 Spotify代码. 此外,据报道,Spotify 正在开发一项名为“Tastebuds”的创新功能,该功能将允许该应用程序为具有相似音乐品味的朋友创建单独的播放列表。

Apple Music vs Spotify:播放列表

正确管理播放列表的能力对于所有音乐流媒体服务都很重要。 Spotify 和 Apple Music 在这方面非常成功,因为它们为用户策划内容的独特方法。

Spotify 最近用一个辅助播放列表选项替换了它的广播标签,该选项可以根据用户的音乐品味为他们提供精确的推荐。 此外,用户将能够为全天的不同活动创建单独的播放列表,例如锻炼、旅行等。 

由于Spotify可以提供高度准确的跟踪建议 强大的上下文推荐算法 这在很大程度上依赖于收听历史。 该服务还允许其用户在为个性化播放列表选择歌曲之前预览歌曲。

Spotify播放列表

尽管Apple Music仍在使用 无线电节目,它更加强调识别用户策划的内容。 Beats 1 是 Apple 一流的内部广播电台的一个典型例子,它播放由几位著名 DJ 主持的音乐和节目。 这有助于用户对他们选择的音乐获得独特的视角,并拥有独特的聆听体验。

您还可以浏览 Apple Music 上基于流派的广播电台,例如爵士、经典摇滚、蓝调、乡村等。 此外,您还可以查看著名的新闻广播电台,例如 BBC 和 ESPN。

Apple Music vs Spotify:语音助手

在 Apple Music 方面,Siri 充当您的 DJ,将歌曲添加到您的资料库、控制播放、查找歌曲资料、排列您的收藏夹等等。 然而,Spotify 在这方面缺乏很多功能,虽然你可以使用 Siri,但让应用程序像在 Apple Music 中那样执行变得更加复杂。

新的 家庭音箱 by Apple 主要用于与 Apple Music 一起使用。 HomePod 允许 Siri 控制与您的 Apple Music 收藏相关的几乎所有基本功能。 访问播放列表、情绪、流派、根据推荐播放类似音乐、喜欢和不喜欢歌曲、在广播电台担任主角等功能。

不幸的是,Spotify 应用程序没有任何这些类似的功能。 订阅 Spotify 后,您所能做的就是将音频流式传输到运行 Spotify 应用程序的设备中的 HomePod。

尽管如此,关于 Spotify 的好消息是它支持从游戏机到智能扬声器等众多第三方设备。 因此,当涉及到要与 Spotify 应用程序一起使用的小工具和设备时,您有更广泛的选择。

幸运的是,如果您拥有支持 Amazon Alexa 的扬声器,那么您可以轻松地将其连接到 Spotify 和 Apple Music 并享受。 虽然,建议您在执行此操作之前检查您所在的地区,因为支持可能会因您所在的位置而异。

Apple Music和Spotify的优缺点

使用Apple Music的优势:

  • 它使用户可以通过搜索歌词流来发现歌曲。

  • Apple音乐目前可用于Android用户。

  • 它拥有大量来自独立艺术家的音乐库。

  • 它提供AppleTV +集成。

  • 与Spotify相比,它具有更大的音乐库。

  • 下载音乐的上限比Spotify高得多。

使用Apple Music的缺点:

  • 它不包括iTunes目录中的所有歌曲。

  • 与Spotify不同,它没有免费的广告支持服务。

  • 它以256 Kbps的固定比特率传输音乐。

  • Apple Music网络播放器不支持歌词。

使用Spotify的优势:

  • 它利用短视频和动画来增强您的音乐聆听体验。

  • 它具有非常直观的用户界面,可让您使用搜索选项创建播放列表。

  • 与Apple Music相比,它在设备之间具有更大的兼容性。

  • 它具有非付费计划,可让您以随机播放模式收听您喜爱的专辑和播放列表。

  • 如果您订阅了他们的高级服务,您可以以令人印象深刻的 320 Kbps 压缩率流式传输音乐。

  • 它可以链接到您的Facebook帐户。

使用Spotify的缺点:

  • 并非在所有国家/地区都提供其服务。

  • 除了Lyrics集成背后的Genius外,没有内置的Lyrics功能。

  • 免费用户不会无限制地跳过曲目。

最终裁决

对于正在寻找仅具有基本功能的非付费服务的用户来说,Spotify 是一个理想的选择。 Apple Music 提供的免费服务只允许您收听 Beats1 广播电台并收听来自 iTunes 的音乐。 另一方面,Apple Music 与其他 Apple 设备近乎完美同步,对于想要留在 Apple 生态系统中的人来说,这是一个不错的选择。 Apple Music 和 Spotify 都是出色的音乐流媒体服务,您可以自行决定哪一个最适合您的需求。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 3 | 6
上一篇文章 Apple Music与iTunes Match:您需要知道的一切 下一篇文章 Apple Music的10个利弊:您应该订阅吗?

Support

Library

Glossary

Submit a Ticket

Apple Music vs Spotify: Is Apple Music Better than Spotify?

By Catrina Jones

Updated on June 28, 2020

When it comes to having access to unlimited music at a lower price, there are a lot of apps these days to offer such features. However, two of the most popular services from amongst all others that come to mind are Apple Music and Spotify.


With over 50 million songs at the store, both of these services are well known for their high-quality streaming, which is offered at a very affordable monthly subscription rate. Before you conclude, you would want to know which would work best with your phones or devices, have better song collection, and so on.


Read on to find out more about the similarities and differences between these two music streaming platforms, and decide for yourself.


CONTENTS


Apple Music vs Spotify: Overview

Spotify vs Apple Music Overview

The music streaming industry has become quite saturated as more and more services are popping up on the radar. Although Spotify laid the groundwork for the industry, Apple Music has been able to catch up to Spotify's success.


Spotify, with more than 130 million Premium subscribers, is known to be the one to set the design that eventually helped the music streaming market grow. With paying as well as free subscribers, it looks like Spotify won't be stopping anytime soon. Apple Music, on the other hand, has started operating more recently and is recognized for all its features being compatible with the Apple iOS and Apple devices. With features such as human-touch radio, an extensive library to browse from, premium releases, and so on, Apple Music has topped Spotify in the United States.


The two services competing against each other has helped the recording industry to an extent. However, it has become increasingly difficult to judge which one is comparatively better.


Spotify is well established in the music streaming line by now, but Apple Music which has arrived almost seven years later is in no way lagging. Offers such as live radio, and a cloud locker, thus makes it a steep competition, although both services are similar in a few ways.



Apple Music vs Spotify: User Interface and Experience

Even with their different background colors, both Apple Music and Spotify have been praised for maintaining a simple and intuitive user interface. The interface of both platforms is well-optimized and easily navigable.


If you use the mobile Apple Music and Spotify applications, you will find the main tab at the bottom of the screen, generally consisting of options such as radio, search, library, playlists, album, etc.


However, there are a few key differences that set the interface of the two platforms apart. For starters, Spotify often displays short videos and animations while playing some tracks. Some of the animations can take up the entire screen background, and lyrics are also visible for some songs.

Spotify vs Apple Music Overview

Apple Music, on the other hand, has limited animations but is known for time-synced lyrics. Apple music even lets users search for particular songs only through typing a segment of lyrics. This feature is especially helpful when you do not know the name of a song.

Apple Music Lyrics Interface


Just like Spotify, Apple Music is now compatible with CarPlay and Android Auto. You should face no issue managing your vehicle's infotainment system with any of these music streaming services. Apple Music also has very effective personalization options under the For You tab. It helps you optimize recommendations according to your taste in music.


Apple Music vs Spotify: Pricing

Even though all the major music streaming services offer the industry-standard price of around $10 per month, there are subtle variations in the pricing scheme.

Apple Music

Spotify

Individual Plan

$9.99/mo.

$9.99/mo.

Family Plan

$14.99/mo.

$14.99/mo.

Student Plan

$4.99/mo.

$4.99/mo.

Free Option

No

Yes, with ads

Free Trial Period

3-month

1-month


How much does Spotify cost?

Spotify is known to charge $9.99 for their Premium services, but they also offer a free service that comes with a few caveats.


Spotify Free users can stream music for free with ads, and they are restricted from listening to their choice of albums and playlists in a shuffle mode, and a skip-limit has been put in place as well. You will not be able to skip songs over six times in an hour, and ads will pop up now and then interrupting your music playback.


The premium service does not have any of these restrictions and is cheaper for students at around $4.99 per month. There is also an amazing family plan that costs roughly $14.99 per month for up to 6 family members. Furthermore, Spotify Premium also comes with Hulu and Showtime integration. You can also try out the premium service by subscribing to their three-month trial period.

Spotify vs Apple Music Pricing


Compared Spotify Free vs Premium:

Features

Spotify Free

Spotify Premium

Price

$0

$4.99 - $14.99/mo.

Ads

Yes

No

Offline Listening

No

Yes

Max Audio Quality

160 Kbps

320 Kbps

Unlimited Skips

No

Yes


How much does Apple Music cost?

Apple Music originally wanted to provide its Premium service for $5 per month but was unable to do so due to featuring music from major labels. Similar to Spotify, Apple Music also charges $9.99 per month to users and has a heavily restricted free service. Apple Music also offers a family plan subscription which costs $14.99 per month for up to 6 people.


Apple Music's free service only lets users gain access to Beats1 radio and browse the iTunes library for playing pre-purchased tracks. There is a separate plan for students which costs only $4.99 per month. Moreover, the premium service lets you link the application to AppleTV+.

Apple Music Pricing


Apple Music vs Spotify: Music Library

Name

Number of Tracks

Apple Music

60 million songs

Spotify

Over 50 million songs


Although Spotify and Apple Music are recognized for their massive music libraries of 50 million and 60 million songs respectively, there is a lack of notable exclusives.


Apple Music is known for featuring several highly sought-after albums, but they haven't dished out any exclusive content recently. On the other hand, other major music streaming services such as Tidal have been consistently releasing exclusives, some of which are only starting to appear on Spotify and Apple Music.


Apart from exclusives, both platforms have also been applauded for regularly giving users early-access to certain albums and songs. One of Apple Music's remarkable features is its ability to hook up to the iCloud Music Library. This lets users select songs from their library across all devices. You will be able to play songs from your devices on Spotify as well, but unlike Apple Music, none of the songs are uploaded to the cloud.


Apple Music vs Spotify: Music Discovery

Among all the acclaimed music streaming services in the market, Spotify and Apple Music stand out due to their impressive collection of new and old music. On top of that, both platforms have highly customizable settings that can help you learn about songs that suit your personal preference.


Spotify users will be treated to two separate playlists named Discover Weekly and Release Radar that usually feature new tracks every week. Apple Music also introduces new music each week to a playlist called New Music Mix.

Spotify Music Discovery

Apple Music Music Discovery


The music personalization settings of both Spotify and Apple music work wonderfully, and they are also easy to configure. This is usually taken care of as you sign in to the two applications. You will be bombarded with questions about your preferred artists and genres to obtain a better understanding of the kind of music you listen to. Although this procedure can be a bit cumbersome, it can precisely determine which songs to recommend to users.


Moreover, both platforms can generate appropriate playlists based on your selection.


In comparison to Apple Music, Spotify mostly relies on its recommendation algorithm to pinpoint and create playlists of songs that you might like. However, some users tend to choose Apple Music solely for its strong user-curated content. In this way, users can learn about the latest music as well as unreleased tracks they are looking for.


Apple Music vs Spotify: Offline Listening

Apple Music

Spotify

Download Limit

100,000 songs

10,000 songs per device

Device Limit

Up to 10 devices

Up to 5 devices


Offline listening is perhaps the most important option that we look for in music streaming services. As the price of mobile data is gradually increasing, it has become more economical for users to rely on downloaded music when they are traveling. Moreover, some areas are known for having poor cellular reception. Offline listening can be an added benefit for users who frequently traverse such places. Fortunately, both Spotify and Apple Music support offline music playback.


You can synchronize Apple Music to work across a maximum of 10 individual devices and you can download close to 100,000 songs. Keep in mind that songs you download from Apple Music are only playable while your subscription plan is active. What’s more, you are only allowed to play music on Apple's authorized devices. Once you stop subscribing, you'll lose the entire music library. But with tools like TuneFab Apple Music Converter, you can easily solve this issue because it will help you back up your entire Apple Music collection to PC locally without DRM encryption.


In comparison to Apple Music, Spotify (Premium) only lets you sync up to 5 devices and there is a download limit of around 10,000 songs per device. Numerous original songs, covers, video content, and even exclusives can be downloaded on both platforms because of this feature. Spotify even takes it up a notch by letting users have access to their impressive selection of podcasts.


Because of the greater number of songs you can download on Apple Music, it is a better choice for people who intensively rely on offline listening every day. However, if you love listening to podcasts, Spotify is the way to go as they constantly invest in introducing exclusive podcasts.


Apple Music vs SpotifyStreaming Quality

Apple Music

Spotify

Streaming Quality

256 Kbps AAC

320 Kbps Ogg Vorbis

160 Kbps

96 Kbps

24 Kbps

Although general users do not put a lot of emphasis on audio streaming quality, it is certainly important to audiophiles.


Apple Music streams all of its tracks in the form of 256 Kbps AAC files. There is no variable streaming quality offered by Apple music, which can be a problem for people who are running low on mobile data. On top of that, plenty of other music streaming services can stream 320 Kbps files that have more depth and sound crisper.

Apple Music Audio Quality


In contrast to Apple Music, Spotify utilizes an Ogg Vorbis format for streaming and is capable of offering users variable streaming quality. If you are using Spotify on your smartphone, you should be able to choose from different stream quality presets such as Low (24 Kbps), Normal (96 Kbps), High (160 Kbps), and Very High (320 Kbps).


However, Spotify users on the desktop can only select a bit rate between 160 Kbps and 320 Kbps. The variable streaming quality of Spotify makes the platform more versatile, and it won't unexpectedly stop music streaming for those lacking adequate cellular data.

Spotify Audio Quality


Apple Music vs Spotify: Social Sharing

Relative to other music streaming platforms, Spotify and Apple Music is well-known for offering a wealth of social sharing features to make your music listening experience fun and interactive. You will be able to follow your favorite artists on both platforms and get notifications on their newest releases. Other than that, you will be able to see all their latest posts to keep yourself updated. You can also follow your friends and acquaintances on Spotify and Apple Music.


Despite the similarities, many users have stated that popular musicians are more active on Apple Music in terms of posting updates. Other than that, as long as your friends are added to you on Facebook, you will be able to follow them on Apple Music and observe their activities in real-time. Furthermore, Apple Music has a proprietary feature known as Connect that functions similarly to Twitter. Connect allows artists to post texts, photos, and videos on their profile for their followers.


Although Spotify lacks a Twitter-style tab for following your favorite artists, it lets you observe your friend's activities in real-time. You can share your preferred songs, albums, and playlist among your friends using Spotify Codes. Furthermore, Spotify is reportedly working on an innovative feature called 'Tastebuds" that will allow the application to create a separate playlist for friends with similar tastes in music.


Apple Music vs Spotify: Playlists

The ability to properly manage playlists is important for all music streaming services. Spotify and Apple Music have been quite successful in this regard due to their unique approach to curating content for users.


Spotify has recently replaced its radio tab with an assisted playlisting option that can give users precise recommendations based on their taste in music. Moreover, users will be able to create separate playlists for different activities throughout the day such as workouts, traveling, and so on. 


Spotify can make highly accurate track suggestions because of its powerful contextual recommendation algorithm that heavily relies on listening history. The service also allows its users to preview songs before selecting them for a personalized playlist.

Spotify Playlist


Although Apple Music still utilizes radio-style programming, it put a far greater emphasis on identifying user-curated content. Beats 1 is a prime example of Apple's top-notch in-house radio station that broadcasts music and shows hosted by several prominent DJs. This helps users obtain a unique perspective on their choice of music and have a distinct listening experience altogether.


You can also surf genre-based radio stations on Apple Music such as Jazz, Classic Rock, Blues, Country, and so on. Furthermore, you can also check out well-known news radio stations such as BBC and ESPN.


Apple Music vs Spotify: Voice Assistants

When it comes to Apple Music, Siri functions as your DJ to add songs to your library, control playback, find song facts, queue up your favorites, and so on. Spotify, however, lacks many features in this regard and although you can use Siri, it becomes more complicated to get the app to perform the way it does in Apple Music.


The HomePod speaker by Apple is primarily made to be used alongside Apple Music. The HomePod allows Siri to control almost all essential functions related to your Apple Music collection. Functions such as accessing playlists, moods, genres, playing similar music based on recommendations, liking and disliking songs, starring at a radio station and so much more.


Unfortunately, the Spotify app doesn't have any of these similar features. All you can do with a Spotify subscription is streaming audio to HomePod in your device that runs the Spotify app.


Nevertheless, the good news regarding Spotify is that it supports numerous third-party devices ranging from game consoles to smart speakers and many others. So you have a wider choice when it comes to gadgets and devices you want to use alongside your Spotify app.


Luckily, if you own a speaker that is Amazon Alexa- enabled, then you can easily connect it to both Spotify and Apple Music and enjoy. Although, it is advised to check your region before you do that since support can differ depending on where you are at.


The Pros and Cons of Apple Music and Spotify

Advantages of using Apple Music:

  • It lets users discover songs by searching lyric streams.

  • Apple Music is currently available for Android users.

  • It has a great library of music from independent artists.

  • It offers AppleTV+ integration.

  • It has a larger music library compared to Spotify.

  • The upper limit of downloaded music is much higher than Spotify.


Disadvantages of using Apple Music:

  • It doesn't include all the songs from the iTunes catalog.

  • Unlike Spotify, there is no free ad-supported service.

  • It streams music at a fixed bitrate of 256 Kbps.

  • Apple Music web player doesn't support lyrics.


Advantages of using Spotify:

  • It makes use of short videos and animations to enhance your music listening experience.

  • It has a very intuitive UI and lets you create playlists using the search option.

  • It has greater compatibility across devices in comparison to Apple Music.

  • It features a non-paid plan that lets you listen to your favorite albums and playlists in shuffle mode.

  • If you subscribe to their Premium service, you can stream music at an impressive compression rate of 320 Kbps.

  • It can be linked to your Facebook account.


Disadvantages of using Spotify:

  • Its services are not available in all countries.

  • Other than Genius behind the Lyrics integration, there is no built-in Lyrics feature.

  • There is no unrestricted track skipping for free users.


Final Verdict

Spotify is an ideal choice for users who are looking for a non-paid service that only comes with basic features. The free service offered by Apple Music only lets you tune into the Beats1 radio station and listen to music from iTunes. On the other hand, Apple Music has near-perfect synchronization with other Apple devices and is a great option for those who want to remain in the Apple ecosystem. Both Apple Music and Spotify are excellent music streaming services, and it's upon you to decide which one suits your needs the best.


Was this information helpful?

Copyright © TuneFab Software Inc. All rights reserved.