关闭 夏季特卖 关闭 夏季特卖

从iTunes Store将电影或电视节目下载到计算机时,您可能会注意到视频文件扩展名是M4V。 您是否想知道M4V是什么? 实际上,文件扩展名(例如.m4v)在帮助您的计算机确定打开哪个文件类型的程序方面起着重要作用。 如果您想知道什么是M4V文件,那不是小孩子的游戏。 本文旨在澄清您的问题。

内容

第1部分。了解M4V格式

什么是M4V?

M4V文件格式是Apple Corporation开发的视频容器。 它是MPEG-4文件格式的派生产品,但与MP4具有许多相似之处。 M4V格式通常用于Apple iTunes Store中的视频。 您在iTunes Store上购买和下载的电影,电视节目和音乐视频都包装为M4V文件。 M4V文件的一个独特功能是该文件格式有时可以包含DRM复制保护。

什么是M4V

M4V的局限性

您可能会注意到,M4V通常与iTunes和DRM保护相关联。 苹果公司采用的DRM保护旨在避免从iTunes Store下载的视频内容盗用版权。 这给内容用户带来不便。 也就是说,要查看受DRM保护的M4V文件,您需要使用授权的设备登录到Apple,然后在iTunes或iPhone和iPad等iOS设备中播放该文件。

如果要在非Apple设备(例如Android,PS4或Xbox)上播放M4V文件,请使用以下工具 TuneFab M4V 转换器 可以帮助您轻松绕过DRM保护 将iTunes M4V转换为MP4.

M4V:利弊

优点

1. iTunes M4V格式可以视为MP4的一种特殊形式。 它使用H.264编解码器。 与在传统编码方法(例如DivX或H.263)中应用的文件相比,使用H.264编解码器编码的文件倾向于 体积小,品质高.

2.另外,iTunes M4V文件 允许章节信息 并且能够 应对AC3(杜比数字)音频文件.

缺点

1. DRM限制 仅限于PC用户,因为您必须申请Apple ID才能访问iTunes Store以下载M4V文件。

2.此外,如果要将受保护的M4V转换为MP4等其他流行格式,则需要找到一种方法来 删除DRM 第一。

第2部分。如何打开M4V文件?

为了进一步说明,DRM是可选的。 因此,请勿假定所有M4V文件都与DRM组合在一起。 实际上,除了iTunes,还有几个应用程序可以打开M4V文件。 以下部分将涵盖有关M4V兼容性的一系列信息,并且您将了解如何在不同的平台和设备上打开M4V文件。

播放DRM版的M4V视频

操作系统

播放iTunes M4V视频的程序

Windows

iTunes

Mac

iTunes

QuickTime播放器

iOS

Apple Music(用于音乐视频),Apple TV(应用程序)

电源提示: 要在PC上打开并播放iTunes M4V视频,可以从上面的列表中选择兼容的程序。 此外,如果您想与朋友共享视频文件,则必须在使用购买它的Apple ID的同时授权该朋友的计算机。 Apple允许您授权 五台机器 用于查看受DRM保护的内容。

播放不受保护的M4V视频

操作系统

播放无DRM的M4V视频的程序

Windows

iTunes,Corel会声会影2019,VLC,RealNetworks,RealPlayer,Adobe Flash Player,Windows Media Player,Miro,Nullsoft Winamp

Mac

iTunes,QuickTime,VLC,Miro,Elmedia Player

Linux

Viro,米罗

网路

Google Drive

iOS

VLC,PlayerXtreme媒体播放器

Android

适用于Android的VLC,适用于Android的视频播放器,MX Player

电源提示: 打开不受保护的M4V视频也很容易。 例如,Windows用户可以直接打开Windows Media Player打开它。 (也可以看看: 提示:如何在Windows Media Player上播放M4V视频)

此外,有时候,只需将扩展名更改为MP4即可。 这是因为M4V基本上是MP4容器格式的扩展。 即使您收到通知说文件已受复制保护,M4V也不一定意味着存在DRM。

第3部分。如何转换M4V文件?

就像我上面提到的,您可以通过更改文件扩展名将.m4v文件重命名为.mp4。 但是,这并不意味着文件已转换为新格式。 这只是使它可以被媒体播放器识别并播放文件。 同样,将M4V视频文件显示为输出选项的应用程序实际上无法加密内容。

可以肯定,M4V被Apple产品更好地接受了。 为了使M4V视频具有更好的兼容性,您可能需要一个M4V转换器。 以下是可供您选择的M4V转换器列表。

转换iTunes M4V文件的最佳工具

如果您只想从iTunes视频中删除DRM以供个人观看,则可以使用此易于使用的M4V到MP4转换器- TuneFab M4V 转换器。 此工具可以帮助您从iTunes M4V视频中删除DRM保护,然后立即轻松地将其转换为MP4。 从iTunes视频中删除DRM后,您可以将转换后的MP4文件传输到便携式设备(如Android智能手机和平板电脑)进行观看。

使用TuneFab M4V Converter将iTunes电影转换为MP4

转换无DRM的M4V文件的最佳工具

转换器1-手刹

技术人员可能熟悉 手刹。 它是一个免费且功能强大的开源视频转码器,在将视频文件转换为其他不同格式方面做得很好。

  • 它支持将视频转换为MP4(M4V),MKV等。

  • 另外,HandBrake可用于多个平台,包括Windows,macOS和Linux。

  • 它提供了多个选项来更改输出视频的比特率,文件大小和采样率。

转换器1手刹

转换器2-FreeMake视频转换器

Freemake视频转换器 是另一个免费但有用的程序,可用于在视频格式之间进行转换。

  • 只需将不受保护的M4V视频导入程序,它就可以帮助您将剪辑转换为其他流行的格式,包括MP4,AVI,3GP等。

  • 此外,您可以使用它来创建照片幻灯片和音乐可视化效果。

FreeMake转换器

转换器3-ZAMZAR

您可能更喜欢在线工具,而不是桌面软件。 然后 ZAMZAR 应该是一个理想的选择。

  • 它是一个免费的在线转换工具,支持1,000多种不同的转换类型。

  • 无需下载或创建帐户。

有了此转换器和良好的网络连接,您可以轻松地将未加密的M4V视频转换为MP4或其他格式。 视频转换不会那么烦人。

Zamzar转换器

总结

您已获得有关M4V文件格式的所有信息。 随着苹果产品的普及,M4V现在在许多方面得到了广泛使用。 但是,如果您对M4V的兼容性感到恼火,则可以将其转换为MP4,MOV和任何其他格式。 全取决于你。

我已尽我最大的努力来涵盖最广泛的角度,希望本文对您有所帮助。 只是不要忘记与您的朋友分享这篇文章。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 3.3 | 7
上一篇文章 M4V与MP4:差异和您需要知道的一切 下一篇文章 了解iTunes视频格式(完整指南)
该网站使用cookies。

我们使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。点击“接受 Cookie”即表示您同意我们的 隐私政策.

否认

Support

Library

Glossary

Submit a Ticket

What Is M4V File? (And How to Open and Play M4V?)

By Kelsi Gillan

May 12, 2020

When downloading movies or TV shows from the iTunes Store to your computer, you may notice that the video file extension name is M4V. Have you ever wondered what M4V is and does? In fact, a file extension, .m4v for instance, plays an important role in helping your computer to determine which program to open the type of file. And it is no child's play if you want to know what is an M4V file. This article is writing to clear up your questions.



CONTENTS


Part 1. Getting to Know the M4V Format

What is M4V?

M4V file format is a video container developed by Apple Corporation. It is a derivation from the MPEG-4 file format yet shares many similarities with MP4. M4V format is commonly used for videos in Apple’s iTunes Store. The movie, TV show, and music video that you buy and download on the iTunes Store are wrapped as M4V files. A distinctive feature of the M4V file is that this file format can be occasionally contained DRM copy protection.

What is M4V


Limitations of M4V

As you may notice, M4V is more often associated with iTunes and DRM protection. The DRM protection employed by Apple aims to avoid copyright theft with video content downloaded on the iTunes Store. This generates inconvenience for content users. That said, to view a DRM-protected M4V file, you need to be logged into Apple by using an authorized device, and then play it in iTunes or iOS devices like iPhone and iPad.


If you want to play M4V files on non-Apple devices such as Android, PS4, or Xbox, using tools like TuneFab M4V Converter can help you bypass DRM protection and easily convert iTunes M4V to MP4.


M4V: Pros and Cons

Pros

1. iTunes M4V format can be considered as a special form of MP4. It uses H.264 codec. Comparing to files applied in traditional encoding methods like DivX or H.263, files encoded with the H.264 codec tend to be with high quality while stored in small size.

2. Also, iTunes M4V files allow chapter information and are able to cope with AC3 (Dolby Digital) audio files.


Cons

1. The DRM restriction is somehow limited to PC users since you have to apply for an Apple ID to access the iTunes Store for downloading M4V files.

2. Besides, if you want to convert a protected M4V to other popular formats like MP4, you need to find a method to remove DRM first.


Part 2. How Do I Open an M4V File?

To further explain, DRM is optional. So, do not assume all M4V files are combined with DRM. Actually, besides iTunes, a couple of applications can open M4V files. The following part will cover a range of information about the compatibility of M4V, and you will know about how to open an M4V file on different platforms and devices.


Play DRM-ed M4V Video

Operation System

Programs that play iTunes M4V Videos

Windows

iTunes

Mac

iTunes

QuickTime Player

iOS

Apple Music (for music videos), Apple TV (app)


Power Tips: To open and play an iTunes M4V video on your PCs, you can choose a compatible program from the list above. Furthermore, if you want to share the video file with your friend, you have to authorize that friend’s computer while using Apple ID that purchased it. Apple permits you to authorize five machines for viewing DRM-protected content.


Play Non-protected M4V Video

Operation System

Programs that play DRM-free M4V videos

Windows

iTunes, Corel VideoStudio 2019, VLC, RealNetworks, RealPlayer, Adobe Flash Player, Windows Media Player, Miro, Nullsoft Winamp

Mac

iTunes, QuickTime, VLC, Miro, Elmedia Player

Linux

VLC, Miro

Web

Google Drive

iOS

VLC, PlayerXtreme Media Player

Android

VLC for Android, Video Player for Android, MX Player


Power Tips: Opening a non-protected M4V video is easy as well. For example, Windows users can directly turn to Windows Media Player to open one. (See Also: Tips: How to Play M4V Videos on Windows Media Player)

Besides, sometimes, simply changing the extension to MP4 is fine. This is because M4V is basically an extension of the MP4 container format. And M4V doesn't necessarily mean there is DRM even if you receive a notification saying that the file is copy-protected.


Part 3. How to Convert M4V Files?

Like I've mentioned above, you can rename a .m4v file to .mp4 by changing the file extension. However, it doesn't mean that the file is converted to a new format. This just makes it can be recognized by a media player and play the file. Also, applications that present the M4V video file as an output option cannot actually encrypt the content.


It's sure that M4V is better accepted by Apple products. To let M4V videos perform better compatibility, you may need an M4V converter. The following is a list of M4V converters provided you to choose from.


Best Tool for Converting iTunes M4V Files

If you just want to remove DRM from iTunes videos for personal viewing, you can turn to this simple-to-use M4V to MP4 converter - TuneFab M4V Converter. This tool can help you strip DRM protection from iTunes M4V videos and then convert it to MP4 instantly and easily. After removing DRM from your iTunes videos, you can transfer the converted MP4 files to your portable devices like Android smartphones and tablets for watching.

Convert iTunes Movies to MP4 with TuneFab M4V Converter


Best Tools for Converting DRM-free M4V Files

Converter 1 - HandBrake

Techies are likely to be familiar with HandBrake. It is a free and powerful open-source video transcoder that does a great job of converting video files to other different formats.

  • It supports converting videos to MP4(M4V), MKV, and a lot more.

  • Also, HandBrake is available for multiple platforms including Windows, macOS, and Linux.

  • It provides multiple options to alter the bit rate, file size, and sample rate of your output video.

Converter 1 HandBrake

Converter 2 - FreeMake Video Converter

Freemake Video Converter is another free but useful program that can be used to convert between video formats.

  • Simply import your non-protected M4V videos to the program, it helps you transform the clips to other popular formats including MP4, AVI, 3GP, and more.

  • Moreover, you can use it to create photo slideshows and music visualizations.

FreeMake Converter


Converter 3 - ZAMZAR

You may prefer online tools instead of desktop software. Then ZAMZAR should be an ideal choice.

  • It is a free online conversion tool that supports over 1,000 different conversion types.

  • It is not necessary to download or create an account.

With this converter and good network connection, you can easily convert a non-encrypted M4V video to MP4 or other formats. Video conversion would be less annoying.

Zamzar Converter


Final Words

You've got all the information about the M4V file format. As Apple's product has gained much popularity, M4V now is widely used in many aspects. But if you are annoyed by the compatibility of M4V, surely you can convert it to MP4, MOV, and any other formats. It's all up to you.

I've tried my level best to cover the broadest perspective, and hopefully, you may find this article helpful. Just don't forget to share this article with your friends.


Was this information helpful?

Copyright © TuneFab Software Inc. All rights reserved.