关闭 世界杯 关闭 世界杯

尽管Windows 10上提供了Groove音乐,影视和照片应用程序,但Windows Media Player仍然是人们播放不同形式的数字媒体的首选。 它在Windows系统上具有令人印象深刻的性能和非常直观的界面。 实际上,最新版本的Windows Media Player 12是一种多功能程序,可让您播放许多流行的视频和音频格式,例如AVI,MP4,MOV,MP3和WAV。 此外,您甚至可以在Windows Media Player上播放M4V。

但是考虑到M4V文件可以分为两种类型,即受DRM保护的类型和无DRM的类型,您应该使用不同的方法来适当地打开和播放这些M4V视频。 本文是有关在Windows Media Player上流畅播放M4V的简单完整指南。 阅读后,您可能会更好地知道如何处理与M4V格式有关的Windows Media Player播放问题。

内容

第1部分。为什么我不能在Windows Media Player上播放M4V?

如果您使用的是Windows Media Player 12,则M4V实际上是其支持的多媒体文件类型之一。 但是,您可能会遇到尝试在Windows Media Player上播放M4V文件但无法正常工作的情况。 可能是,您的PC上可能没有正确的编解码器,或者M4V文件受DRM保护。

与编解码器有关的问题

您可能想知道什么是编解码器。 编解码器是压缩或解压缩媒体文件(例如音频和视频)的程序。 安装了编解码器后,就可以在Windows Media Player上播放M4V文件。 如果您收到类似“播放此文件需要编解码器“或”Windows Media Player遇到错误“尝试播放M4V时,编解码器会遇到播放问题。要解决此问题,您可以在线搜索并下载所需的编解码器。

与DRM相关的问题

DRM是阻止您在Windows Media Player上播放M4V视频的另一个可能因素。 但是什么是DRM? 一般来说,DRM是一种限制使用,修改和分发受版权保护作品的技术。 苹果公司开发了M4V容器,以标记和编码受DRM保护的视频,本质上是iTunes电影,电视节目和音乐视频。

因此,这些受保护的iTunes M4V视频只能在以下设备上播放  苹果设备, 授权的计算机 用于购买和租赁视频的iTunes帐户, Apple QuickTime播放器.

但是,普通的M4V不会使用DRM复制保护进行加密,这意味着,如果可以识别编解码器,则可以打开不受保护的M4V视频并使用Windows Media Player播放。

第2部分。如何在Windows Media Player上播放普通的M4V视频?

未随附DRM的常见M4V视频很容易使用Windows Media Player打开。 最简单,最直接的方法是 双击视频文件。 通常,计算机上的Windows Media Player包含支持M4V进行播放的正确编解码器。

你也可以 将文件扩展名从.m4v更改为.mp4 在播放它们之前。 这实际上不会将M4V视频转换为MP4或引起质量损失,而是更多地将视频和音频流放入另一个容器的方法。 这是因为M4V容器基于MP4,并且大多数M4V视频使用相同的视频编解码器。 更改扩展名的好处是MP4具有更好的跨平台兼容性,并且播放器将不太可能将其识别为受保护文件而无法打开它。

但是,在Windows Media Player上播放无DRM的M4V视频时,您可能仍然会遇到困难或错误,但是该视频与其他媒体播放器可以很好地兼容。 也许您仍然希望播放器能够处理M4V文件,一个可行的解决方案是检查编解码器并下载适用于Windows Media Player的编解码器。

这是有关如何检查和下载新编解码器以在Windows Media Player上播放常见M4V视频的分步指南。 那些不想让您的操作系统过载数十个媒体播放器的人,只需继续阅读即可。

在Windows Media Player上播放M4V

步骤1.找出PC上安装了哪些编解码器。

启动Windows Media Player。 在 帮助 菜单中选择 关于Windows Media Player。 如果看不到 帮助 菜单中选择 组织 > 布局 > 显示菜单栏.

然后选择 技术支持信息关于Windows Media Player 对话框。 然后,您的Web浏览器将导航到一个页面,其中包含有关PC上安装的编解码器,插件和服务的许多详细信息。

步骤2.搜索所需的编解码器。

如果您知道编解码器的名称,请尝试在Internet上搜索它。 否则,您可以在网络上搜索“编解码器识别工具”,这可以帮助您找到一些能够分析视频文件并向您显示所需编解码器的工具。

步骤3.下载并安装编解码器。

在安装编解码器包之前,请确保从可信来源(例如提供商的官方网站)下载它们。 一些知名的编解码器包包括与Windows Media Player 12和K-Lite编解码器包兼容的VLC编解码器包。

请注意: 在安装任何数字媒体组件之前,请务必先设置系统还原点。 如有必要,这使您可以返回原始系统配置。

步骤4.重新启动Windows Media Player。

安装正确的编解码器后,您可以重新启动Windows Media Player并打开M4V文件。 到目前为止,M4V文件应该可以正常播放。

第3部分。如何在Windows Media Player上播放iTunes DRM版本的M4V视频?

您已经知道iTunes DRM版本的M4V文件默认情况下是使用iTunes播放器打开的,并且兼容性有限。 如果要在Windows Media Player上播放iTunes M4V视频,则应首先绕过DRM限制。 TuneFab M4V 转换器 是在Windows和Mac OS上有用的DRM删除工具,使您可以摆脱DRM并在非Apple设备和视频播放器上播放iTunes M4V视频。

以下是有关如何 将iTunes M4V转换为MP4 在Windows Media Player上播放。

步骤1.添加M4V视频

启动TuneFab M4V Converter,然后进入主界面。 现在点击 添加文件 在菜单栏上。 选择您要转换的M4V视频,然后单击 加入 继续。

TuneFab M4V转换器接口Mac

步骤2.选择音轨

默认情况下,TuneFab M4V Converter能够保留所有原始音轨和字幕。 只需点击 齿轮图标 选择要保留在输出文件中的音轨和字幕。

选择音轨和字幕

步骤3.将M4V转换为MP4

点击 转化率 按钮,程序将开始从iTunes M4V视频中删除DRM并将其转换为MP4。 稍后,转换过程将完成。 持续时间取决于视频长度。

将iTunes M4V转换为MP4 TuneFab Mac

步骤4.在Windows Media Player上播放iTunes M4V视频

转到目标文件夹并找到转换后的M4V文件。 启动Windows Media Player,然后将转换后的M4V视频拖到播放器中,您的媒体播放器应运行流畅。

仅需4个步骤,您不仅可以在Windows Media Player上播放iTunes电影,电视节目或音乐视频,而且可以在Android手机以及许多其他非Apple设备和视频播放器上播放。

第4部分。更多提示:Windows Media Player支持的媒体文件类型

如果您可能遇到Windows Media Player的视频播放问题,则下面列出Windows Media Player 12支持的某些音频和视频文件类型。

Windows Media Player支持的音频格式

  • Windows Media音频(.wma)

  • 音频交换文件格式(.aif,.aifc,.aiff)

  • Sun Microsystems和NeXT(.au,.snd)

  • 适用于Windows的音频(.wav)

  • CD音轨(.cda)

  • 免费无损音频编解码器(.flac)

  • Windows音频文件(.aac,.adt,.adts)

  • MP4音频文件(.m4a)

Windows Media Player支持的视频格式

  • Windows Media视频(.wmv)

  • 视听交错(.avi)

  • 运动图片专家组(.mpg,.mpeg,.m1v,.mp2,.mp3,.mpa,.mpe,.m3u)

  • MP4视频文件(.mp4,.m4v,.mp4v,.3g2,.3gp2,.3gp,.3gpp)

  • QuickTime电影文件(.mov)

  • MPEG-2 TS视频文件(.m2ts)

最后的话

这就是如何在Windows Media Player上播放M4V视频的全部内容。 对于不受DRM保护的M4V文件,只需使用Windows Media Player打开即可。 如果遇到播放问题,则更改文件扩展名或下载新的编解码器可能是一些解决方案。 对于DRM版iTunes视频,您可以使用TuneFab M4V Converter将M4V转换为MP4,以便可以使用Windows Media Player平稳地播放视频。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 1 | 1
上一篇文章 适用于台式机和移动设备的最佳M4V播放器| 公正的评论 下一篇文章 推荐的前 7 名最佳 M4V 到 MP4 转换器 [PC/Mac]

How to Play M4V Videos on Windows Media Player [Ultimate Guide]

By Kelsi Gillan

Updated on July 03, 2020

While Groove Music, Movies & TV, and Photos apps are available on Windows 10, Windows Media Player remains to be one of the top choices for people to play different forms of digital media. It has impressive performance and a very intuitive interface on the Windows system. In fact, the latest version, Windows Media Player 12, is a versatile program that allows you to play many popular videos and audio formats such as AVI, MP4, MOV, MP3, and WAV. Besides, you can even play M4V on Windows Media Player.


But considering M4V files can be separated into two types, the DRM-protected type, and the DRM-free type, you should use different methods to appropriately open and play these M4V videos. And this article is a simple and complete guide on smoothly playing M4V on Windows Media Player. After reading it, you may better know how to deal with the Windows Media Player playback problems related to M4V formats.




Part 1. Why Can't I Play an M4V on Windows Media Player?

If you are using Windows Media Player 12, then M4V is actually one of its supported multimedia file types. However, you may encounter situations that you try to play M4V files on Windows Media Player but it fails to work. Chances are, you might not have the right codec on your PC, or, the M4V file is protected by DRM.


Codec-related Issues

You may wonder what is a codec. The codec is a program that compresses or decompresses media files such as audio and videos. With a codec installed, M4V files are enabled to play on Windows Media Player. If you receive a message like "A codec is required to play this file" or "Windows Media Player encountered an error" when trying to play an M4V, then your playback problem is involved with codecs. To solve this problem, you can go online and search and download the codec you need.


DRM-related issues

DRM is the other possible factor that prevents you from playing M4V videos on Windows Media Player. But what is DRM? Generally speaking, DRM is a technology that restricting the use, modification, and distribution of copyrighted works. And Apple develops the M4V container to label and encode their DRM-protected videos, essentially, iTunes movies, TV shows, and music videos.


Therefore, these protected iTunes M4V videos can only be played on  Apple devices, computers authorized with iTunes account that is used to purchase and rent videos, and Apple QuickTime Player.


But normal M4V is not encrypted with DRM copy protection, which means, unprotected M4V videos can be opened and played with Windows Media Player if the codec can be recognized.


Part 2. How to Play Normal M4V Videos on Windows Media Player?

Common M4V videos that are not attached with DRM are simple to open with Windows Media Player. The easiest and most direct way is to double click the video file. Usually, the Windows Media Player on your computer includes the right codec that supports M4V for playback.


You can also change the file extension name from .m4v to .mp4 before playing them. This will not actually convert the M4V video to MP4 or cause quality loss, but more of a way to put your video and audio streams into another container. This is because M4V container is based on MP4 and most M4V videos use the same video codec. The benefit of changing the extension name is that MP4 has better compatibility cross-platform and your player will be less likely to recognize it as a protected file and fail to open it.

Still, you may face difficulties or errors when playing DRM-free M4V videos on Windows Media Player, but the video works well with other media players. Perhaps you still want the player to handle M4V files, a workable solution is to check your codec and download the suitable codec for Windows Media Player.


Here is a step by step guide on how to check and download new codecs to play common M4V videos on Windows Media Player. Those who don't want to overload your operating system with dozens of media players, just keep reading.

Play M4V on Windows Media Player


STEP 1. Find out which codecs are installed on your PC.

Launch your Windows Media Player. On the Help menu, select About Windows Media Player. If you don't see the Help menu, select Organize > Layout > Show menu bar.


And then, choose Technical Support Information in the About Windows Media Player dialog box. Then your web browser will be navigated to a page that includes a lot of detailed info about codecs, plug-ins, and services installed on your PC.


STEP 2. Search for your needed codec.

If you know the name of the codec, try searching the Internet for it. If you don't, you can search for “codec identification tool” on the web, this may help you find several tools which are able to analyze your video file and show you what codecs you need.


STEP 3. Download and install the codec.

Before you install your codec packs, be sure that you download them from trusted sources, such as the provider's official website. Some well-known codec packs include VLC Codec Pack which is compatible with Windows Media Player 12 and K-Lite Codec Pack.

Note: Always set up a system restore point before installing any digital media components. This lets you return to your original system configuration, if necessary.


STEP 4. Re-launch the Windows Media Player.

After installing the right codec, you can re-launch the Windows Media Player and open the M4V file. By now the M4V file should play smoothly.


Part 3. How to Play iTunes DRM-ed M4V Videos on Windows Media Player?

You've already known that iTunes DRM-ed M4V files are opened with iTunes player by default and have limited compatibility. If you want to play iTunes M4V videos on Windows Media Player, you should bypass the DRM restriction first. TuneFab M4V Converter is a useful DRM removal tool on both Windows and Mac OS enabling you to get rid of DRM and play iTunes M4V videos on non-Apple devices and video players.

The following is a detailed guide on how to convert iTunes M4V to MP4 to play on Windows Media Player.


STEP 1. Add M4V Videos

Launch TuneFab M4V Converter and enter the main interface. Now click Add Files on the menu bar. Choose the M4V videos you want to convert and click Add to proceed.

TuneFab M4V Converter Interface Mac

STEP 2. Choose Audio Tracks

TuneFab M4V Converter is able to preserve all the original audio tracks and subtitles by default. Just click the Gear icon to choose audio tracks and subtitles you want to keep in the output file.

Choose Audio Tracks and Subtitles

STEP 3. Convert M4V to MP4

Click the Convert button on the menu bar and the program will start to remove DRM from iTunes M4V videos and convert it to MP4. After a while, the conversion process will be completed. The duration is determined by the video length.

Convert iTunes M4V to MP4 TuneFab Mac

STEP 4. Play iTunes M4V Video on Windows Media Player

Go to your destination folder and find the converted M4V files. Launch Windows Media Player, then drag the converted M4V videos to the player and your media player should run smoothly.


With only 4 steps, you can not only play your iTunes movies, TV shows, or music videos on Windows Media Player but also on Android phones and many other non-Apple devices and video players.


Part 4. More Tips: Media File Types Supported by Windows Media Player

In case you may meet video playback issues with Windows Media Player, the following lists some audio and video file types supported by Windows Media Player 12.


Audio formats supported by Windows Media Player

  • Windows Media Audio (.wma)

  • Audio Interchange File Format (.aif, .aifc, .aiff)

  • Sun Microsystems and NeXT (.au, .snd)

  • Audio for Windows (.wav)

  • CD Audio Track (.cda)

  • Free Lossless Audio Codec (.flac)

  • Windows audio file (.aac, .adt, .adts)

  • MP4 Audio file (.m4a)

Video formats supported by Windows Media Player

  • Windows Media Video (.wmv)

  • Audio Visual Interleave (.avi)

  • Moving Pictures Experts Group (.mpg, .mpeg, .m1v, .mp2, .mp3, .mpa, .mpe, .m3u)

  • MP4 Video file (.mp4, .m4v, .mp4v, .3g2, .3gp2, .3gp, .3gpp)

  • QuickTime Movie file (.mov)

  • MPEG-2 TS Video file (.m2ts)


Final Words

This is all about how to play M4V videos on Windows Media Player. For M4V files that are not DRM protected, you can simply open with Windows Media Player. Changing the file extension name or downloading a new codec can be some solutions if you encounter playback issues. For DRM-ed iTunes videos, you use TuneFab M4V Converter to convert M4V to MP4 so that the video can be played smoothly with Windows Media Player.


Was this information helpful?