关闭 夏季特卖 关闭 夏季特卖

当您想要翻录视频或将其用于自己的项目时,了解不同类型的视频格式实际上可以为您节省大量时间和精力。

以M4V和MKV为例,它们是许多人遇到的两种常见格式。 您知道这些格式之间的确切区别吗? 您是否对压缩和存储方面的M4V和MKV选择感到好奇? 在这篇文章中,让我们研究这两种格式的比较,以优化视频编码。

内容

第1部分。M4V与MKV:视频格式介绍

什么是MKV?

Matroska多媒体容器(又称MKV)是一种开放标准的免费容器格式,它是从MCF(多媒体容器格式)和EBML(可扩展二进制元语言)扩展而来的。


这种格式以俄罗斯传统的堆叠娃娃命名。 顾名思义,MKV能够包含不同的编解码器和其他信息。 视频流,音频,图片或字幕轨道都可以包含在MKV文件中。 Windows宣布计划在2014年支持该格式后,它已成为一种流行的视频格式。

    优点

  • 它支持无损质量。

  • 它可以实现高压缩率。

  • 它具有很高的灵活性。

  • 缺点

  • 在某些设备上可能不可用。

  • 通常认为它比AVI或MP4等常见格式使用起来更复杂。

什么是M4V?

M4V是一种容器格式,主要用于iTunes视频中,并附加到Apple的版权保护中。 如果您熟悉MP4格式,则由于两种格式彼此非常相似,因此您可以快速了解M4V格式。 也就是说,M4V格式可以在一个文件中存储多个视频和音频流以及许多其他类型的媒体。 此外,Handbrake将其用作默认的视频转换格式。

    优点

  • 它可以与AC3曲目,SRT字幕和章节标记一起使用。

  • 它也具有高品质且使用灵活。

  • 缺点

  • 许多软件和设备都不高度接受DRM加密的M4V文件。

第2部分。M4V与MKV:它们的区别

为了帮助您直接理解这两种格式,以下是您可能会好奇的M4V和MKV之间的所有差异。

MKV

M4V

扩展名

。MKV格式

.m4v

所有者/创作者

CoreCodec,Inc

Apple Inc

视频编码格式支持

H.264(MPEG-4 AVC),H.265,MPEG-2视频和VP3(Vorbis)

H.264(AVC)

音频编码格式支持

MP3,FLAC,ALAC,AC3,AAC,DTS或PCM

MP3,AAC,AC3等

支持的其他功能

章节,元数据,3D,隐藏式字幕,软字幕

章,隐藏式字幕,软字幕

支持的媒体播放器

VLC等主流媒体播放器。

QuickTime Player(如果受DRM保护)

支持的设备

该格式对便携式设备不友好。

苹果自己的设备,例如iPhone,iPad,iPod等。

第3部分。M4V和MKV,哪个更适合您的视频?

您可能会发现如何选择输出视频的视频格式感到困惑。 好吧……选择M4V还是MKV很大程度上取决于视频的使用,因为它们都是文件容器,而不是编码方法。 容器使您可以在同一文件中选择和组合不同的编解码器,实质上是视频编解码器,音频编解码器和字幕。

在决定使用哪个容器并压缩视频内容进行观看或制作视频之前,也许您可​​以考虑以下三个方面: 视频质量, 文件大小兼容性.

M4V和MKV

用于视频转换和观看

如果视频内容主要用于观看,则 视频质量 应该是您的重点,因为您可能想要无损的视频,并带有鲜明的色彩和明显的细节。 但是请记住,视频文件的质量实际上是由您的源质量决定的。 如果您的视频流或音频流的质量较低,则无论您选择MKV还是M4V,都将无法获得令人满意的观看体验。

但是,当涉及到 灵活性,如您在上面的比较表中所见,与M4V相比,MKV对音频和视频格式的支持更广泛。 此外,MKV是开源的。 使用MKV容器可以使视频几乎无损。 因此,图片细节可以保留并易于感知。 缺点也很明显。 详细信息越多,文件大小越大。

兼容性,看来MKV和M4V都是限制性的。 可以肯定的是,M4V可以在Apple设备上完美运行。 因此,如果您想在Apple产品上播放视频,请坚持使用M4V。 而且,如果您倾向于使用VLC或PotPlayer等视频播放器来播放文件,那么MKV是您的理想之选。

用于视频编辑

对于那些主要使用视频内容进行编辑的人,应该容易做出决定。 未受保护的M4V文件比MKV文件更加用户友好。 流行的视频编辑软件(例如Adobe Premiere)支持导入M4V素材,但不能与MKV一起使用。 可能是由于MKV仍处于发展的初始阶段。 因此,如果您需要视频编辑,M4V将显示出很好的优势。


而且,与MKV相比,M4V文件的尺寸相当小。 因此,如果平台支持该格式,则M4V应该是编辑后上传到视频共享平台的首选。

结论

毕竟,您应该使用M4V还是MKV很大程度上取决于您的个人喜好和使用目的。 如果您想要苹果兼容的视频,而您打算使用的只是h.264编解码器,那么M4V不会出错。 而且,如果您最终喜欢高质量的文件,而不在乎文件大小,请选择MKV。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 5 | 3
上一篇文章 iTunes 1080p vs.720p视频:有什么区别 下一篇文章 M4V与MOV:哪种格式更适合导出?
该网站使用cookies。

我们使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。点击“接受 Cookie”即表示您同意我们的 隐私政策.

否认

Support

Library

Glossary

Submit a Ticket

M4V vs MKV: How to Choose Between Them?

By Kelsi Gillan

June 04, 2020

Knowing different types of video formats can actually save you a lot of time and energy when you want to rip videos or use them for your own projects.


Take M4V and MKV as examples, they are two common formats that many people encounter. Do you know the exact difference between these formats? Are you curious about how to choose M4V and MKV when it comes to compression and storage? In this post, let's investigate the comparison of these two formats to optimize your video encoding.



CONTENT


Part 1. M4V vs MKV: Video Formats Explained

What is MKV?

Matroska Multimedia Container, better known as MKV, is an open standard free container format extended from MCF (Multimedia Container Format) and EBML (Extensible Binary Meta Language).


This format is named after the Russian traditional stacking dolls. As its name suggested, MKV is able to contain different codecs and additional information. Video streams, audio, picture, or subtitles tracks can be all included in an MKV file. It has become a popular video format after Windows announced plans to support the format in 2014.


    Pros

  • It supports lossless quality.

  • It can achieve high compression.

  • It has high flexibility.

  • Cons

  • It may not be available with some devices.

  • It is often considered to be more complicated to use than common formats like AVI or MP4.


What is M4V?

M4V is a container format mostly used in iTunes videos and attached to Apple's copy protection. If you are familiar with MP4 format, then you can quickly get to know M4V format as the two formats are quite similar to each other. That said, M4V format can store multiple video and audio streams and many other types of media in one file. Besides, Handbrake uses it as the default video conversion format.


    Pros

  • It can work with AC3 tracks, SRT subtitles, and chapter markers.

  • It is also of high quality and flexible to use.

  • Cons

  • The DRM-encrypted M4V file is not highly accepted by many software and devices.


Part 2. M4V vs MKV: Their differences

To help you directly understanding the two formats, the following is all the differences between M4V and MKV that you may be curious about.

MKV

M4V

Extension Name

.mkv

.m4v

Owner/Creator

CoreCodec, Inc

Apple Inc

Video coding formats support

H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC), H.265, MPEG-2 Video and VP3 (Vorbis)

H.264 (AVC)

Audio coding formats support

MP3, FLAC, ALAC, AC3, AAC, DTS, or PCM

MP3, AAC, AC3, and others

Additional Features supported

chapters, metadata, 3D, Closed caption, soft subs

chapters, closed caption, soft subs

Supported Media Players

Mainstream media players like VLC.

QuickTime Player (if it is DRM-protected)

Supported Devices

The format is not friendly to portable devices.

Apple's own devices such as iPhone, iPad, iPod, and etc.


Part 3. M4V and MKV, Which is Better for Your Video?

You may find it confusing on how to choose a video format for your output video. Well… Whether to choose M4V or MKV largely depends on your usage of the video because both of them are file containers but not encoding methods. A container enables you to choose and combine different codecs, essentially video codec, audio codec, and subtitles, in the same file.


Before you decide which container to use and compress your video content for viewing or video making, perhaps you can consider about three aspects, video quality, file size, and compatibility.

M4V vs MKV


For Video Converting and Viewing

If the video content is majorly for viewing, then video quality should be your focus, as you may want a lossless video with sharp color and noticeable details. But remember, the quality of a video file is actually determined by the quality of your source. If your video stream or audio stream is of low quality, then your viewing experience will not be desirable no matter if you choose MKV or M4V.


However, when it comes to flexibility, as you may see in the comparison chart above, MKV offers wider support for audio and video formats than M4V. In addition, MKV is open source. Using the MKV container can get your video near-lossless. And therefore, picture details can be retained and easily perceived. The downside is obvious as well. The more the details, the larger the file size.


In terms of compatibility, it seems that both MKV and M4V are restrictive. One thing is certain that M4V runs perfectly on Apple's devices. So, if you wish to play your videos on Apple products, just stick with M4V. And if you are inclined to use video players like VLC or PotPlayer to play your files, then MKV is the way to go.

For Video Editing

For those who primarily use the video content for editing, the decision should be easy to make. Unprotected M4V files are more user-friendly than MKV files. Popular video editing software such as Adobe Premiere supports importing M4V footage but not working with MKV. Probably it is due to that MKV is still in its initial stages of evolution. As a result, M4V shows a good advantage if you have the need for video editing.


What is more, comparing with MKV, M4V file dimensions are reasonably small. Therefore, if the platform supports the format, M4V should be a preferable choice for uploading to a video sharing platform after editing.


Conclusion

After all, whether you should go with M4V or MKV depend dramatically on your personal preferences and your purpose of using it. If you want an apple-compatible video and all you plan to use is h.264 codec, then can't go wrong with M4V. And if you prefer high quality in the end and don't care about file size, choose MKV.


Was this information helpful?

Copyright © TuneFab Software Inc. All rights reserved.