技术支援

图书馆

专业词汇表

提交机票

M4V与MP4:差异和您需要知道的一切

凯尔西·吉兰(Kelsi Gillan)

5月12,2020上更新

了解.MP4和.M4V之间的区别可以更好地帮助您在各种设备上转换和查看视频内容,因为您可以选择与PC和智能手机兼容的最佳格式。 这也是为什么我们要进行M4V与MP4的比较,以使您对这两种格式有一个大致的了解。 这篇文章将包括两种格式的定义,它们的异同以及一些有关M4V和MP4的常见问题解答。


希望它将帮助您弄清楚如何选择这些视频格式,并更好地利用它们进行播放,甚至产生高质量的视频内容。



内容


第1部分。M4V和MP4解释

什么是M4V?

由Apple开发, M4V 是从iTunes Store购买或租借电影,电视节目和音乐视频时常用的容器格式。 创建它的主要原因是为了防止未经授权的视频分发。 因此,iTunes电影或iTunes音乐视频之类的M4V文件受Apple的FairPlay DRM(数字版权管理)保护。 这也是M4V和MP4之间的主要区别,但以后会更多。


什么是MP4?

MP4是MPEG-4 Part 14的缩写,也是一种容器格式,可以包装多媒体数据,例如视频,音频,甚至字幕和图像。 MP4文件没有任何DRM保护,因此MP4是一种通用格式,与Windows Media Player,VLC播放器等大多数媒体播放器以及Android和Windows Phone等设备兼容。 此外,MP4允许通过Internet流式传输。

MP4和M4V


第2部分。M4V与MP4:异同

M4V和MP4之间的相似之处

您可能想知道M4V是否与MP4相同。 从技术上讲,MP4和M4V文件都是视频的容器格式。 两种格式都支持在单个文件中包含各种类型的内容。 因此,M4V或MP4文件可能包含多个视频和音频流,轨道信息,字幕,菜单甚至3D内容。


M4V和MP4之间的差异

容器格式

MP4

M4V

所有者或创作者

MPEG(运动图像专家组)

Apple Inc

文件扩展名

Mp4。

.m4v

视频音频编解码器

MPEG-4 / H.264 / HEVC(AAC)

H.264(AAC / AC3)

附加功能


AC3,章节,软字幕

限制

没有版权保护

苹果在大多数iTunes M4V文件上增加了FairPlay DRM保护

兼容的播放器和设备

可以被绝大多数媒体播放器和设备所认可

iTunes,iPhone,iPad,iPod,Apple TV,QuickTime Player等

为什么它变得流行

由于其高效的加载速度,高质量和良好的兼容性

由于Apple设备(例如iPhone,iPad和iPod)的普及


除了文件扩展名外,M4V和MP4与文件没有什么不同。 它们彼此几乎相同,但存在细微差别。 通常,M4V是MP4容器格式的略微扩展,您可以将其视为具有Apple某些附加功能的不同品牌。


第3部分。M4V vs MP4:最好的是哪一个?

M4V与MP4比较

不用说哪种视频格式更好。 就像我上面提到的,M4V与具有可选DRM保护的MP4相同。 如果视频未加密,则没有任何实际区别。 M4V基本上是Apple的版本,可以将其标记为视频文件并将其附加到iTunes。 它可能嵌入了视频ID3样式标签。 除此之外,根据您的喜好和需求选择哪种视频格式。


如果您使用的是Apple产品,或者您是Apple的瘾君子...

M4V更适合Apple设备存储数字信息。 保留M4V扩展名可以确保您的视频内容受到保护,以使它们无法被复制或编辑。


此外,将视频文件存储在M4V扩展名中还可以使某些功能(例如AC3,章节和软字幕)顺利运行。 例如,Apple TV需要M4V文件扩展名才能知道如何处理MP3容器中的AC4音轨。 此外,如果将包含AC3的文件的扩展名从M4V更改为MP4,则该文件将无法在iPhone或iPad上播放。


如果您使用的是非Apple设备...

MP4被证明是更好的选择。 与M4V相比,MP4本质上具有更好的跨平台兼容性。 由于它易于在包括Android和Windows在内的许多平台上进行复制,传输和回放,因此已被接受了很长时间。 此外,即使MP4文件已损坏,也可以使用某些视频修复软件轻松修复无法访问的视频。


第4部分。关于M4V和MP4的常见问题解答

问:如何播放M4V文件?

A: 通常,M4V可在iPhone或iPad上观看。 受DRM保护的M4V文件可以在使用iTunes的计算机或设备上打开,该iTunes已获得用于购买或租赁视频的Apple ID的授权。


要打开未加密的M4V文件,只需双击您要打开的视频。 就这么简单。 可以在VLC,QuickTime,MPlayer,Windows Media Player和许多其他流行的媒体播放器中打开文件。


问:可以将M4V转换为MP4吗?

A: 当然可以 将M4V转换为MP4。 如果要将不受保护的M4V视频转换为MP4,则可以直接更改扩展名,它们仍是MP4容器。 而且大多数媒体播放器都很聪明,足以检测文件。


但是,如果您从iTunes购买一些电影,然后想剥离DRM,则可能需要M4V到MP4转换器。 另外,您可以使用 TuneFab M4V 转换器 专业处理M4V DRM删除问题。 转换过程之后,您可能会更好地与MP4文件兼容。 您不必担心软件无法识别.m4v扩展名而无法播放内容。

使用TuneFab将M4V转换为MP4

总结

总而言之,M4V和MP4之间的显着区别是M4V受DRM保护,而MP4没有。 它们都是容器格式,因此,如果将.m4v扩展名更改为.mp4,反之亦然,则它们不会影响播放质量。 但是,如果要绕过M4V的限制,则可能需要DRM删除软件。 希望本文可能有助于阐明M4V与MP4的争论。 随时分享您的意见。


这则信息有帮助吗?

版权所有 ©2018 TuneFab Software Inc. 保留所有权利

M4V vs MP4: The Difference and Everything You Need to Know

By Kelsi Gillan

Updated on May 12, 2020

Knowing the differences between .MP4 and .M4V can better help you in converting and viewing video contents on various devices since you can choose the optimum format that is compatible with your PCs and smartphones. This is also why we are doing an M4V vs MP4 comparison to let you form a general idea of the two formats. This post will include the definitions of the two formats, their similarities and differences, and some FAQs about M4V and MP4.


Hopefully, it will help you figure out how to choose these video formats and better utilize them for playback and even producing quality video content.



CONTENTS


Part 1. M4V and MP4 Explained

What is M4V?

Developed by Apple, M4V is a common container format used when purchasing or renting movies, TV shows, and music videos from the iTunes Store. The primary reason for creating it was to prevent unauthorized distribution of the videos. Therefore, M4V files such as iTunes movies or iTunes music videos are protected with Apple's FairPlay DRM (Digital Rights Management). This is also a major difference between M4V and MP4, but more about that later.


What is MP4?

MP4, the abbreviation for MPEG-4 Part 14, is also a container format that can wrap multimedia data such as video, audio, and even subtitles and images. An MP4 file doesn't feature with any DRM protection and therefore MP4 is a universally-used format that is compatible with most media players like Windows Media Player, VLC player, and devices such as Android and Windows Phone. Also, MP4 allows streaming over the Internet.

MP4 vs M4V


Part 2. M4V vs MP4: Similarities and Differences

Similarities Between M4V and MP4

You may wonder if M4V is the same as MP4. Technically speaking, both MP4 and M4V files are container formats for videos. Both formats support containing various types of contents in a single file. Therefore, an M4V or MP4 file may contain multiple video and audio streams, track information, subtitles, menus, and even 3D content.


Differences Between M4V and MP4

Container Format

MP4

M4V

Owner or Creator

MPEG (Moving Pictures Experts Group)

Apple Inc

File Extension

.mp4

.m4v

Video Audio Codec

MPEG-4/H.264/HEVC (AAC)

H.264 (AAC/AC3)

Additional Features


AC3, chapters, soft subs

Restrictions

No copy protection

Apple adds FairPlay DRM protection on most iTunes M4V files

Compatible Players and Devices

Can be recognized by a vast majority of media players and devices

iTunes, iPhone, iPad, iPod, Apple TV, QuickTime Player and etc.

Why it Becomes Popular

Due to its efficient loading speed, high quality, and nice compatibility

Because of the prevalence of Apple devices such as iPhone, iPad, and iPod


M4V and MP4 are nothing different about the files, other than the file extension. They are almost identical to each other but with subtle differences. In general, M4V is a slight extension to the MP4 container format, and you can see it as a different brand with some additional features made by Apple.


Part 3. M4V vs MP4: Which Is the Best?

M4V vs MP4 comparison

There is no saying which video format is better. Like I've mentioned above, M4V is the same as MP4 with optional DRM protection. If a video isn't encrypted, there isn't any real difference. M4V is basically Apple's version to flag it as a video file and attach it to iTunes. It may be embedded with video ID3 style tags. Except that, choosing which video format is according to your preferences and needs.


If you are using Apple Products or you are an Apple addict…

M4V is better suited for Apple devices to store digital information. Reserving the M4V extension can ensure your video contents are protected so that they cannot be copied or edited.


Also, storing video files in M4V extension enables certain features such as AC3, chapters, and soft subs to work smoothly. For instance, Apple TV needs the M4V file extension to know how to deal with the AC3 audio track in the MP4 container. Besides, if you change the extension of a file containing AC3 from M4V to MP4, the file won't be played on an iPhone or iPad.


If you are using non-Apple devices…

MP4 proves to be a much better option. MP4 essentially enjoys better compatibility cross-platform than M4V. It has been widely accepted for a really long time as it is user-friendly to copy, transfer, and playback on many platforms including Android and Windows. Besides, even if an MP4 file is corrupted, it is easy to fix your inaccessible videos using some video repair software.


Part 4. FAQs about M4V and MP4

Q: How to play M4V files?

A: Typically, M4V is for viewing on iPhones or iPads. A DRM protected M4V file can be opened on a computer or a device using iTunes which is authorized with the Apple ID that was used to purchase or rent the video.


To open an unencrypted M4V file, just double-click the video you wish to open. It's as simple as that. The file can be opened in VLC, QuickTime, MPlayer, Windows Media Player, and many other popular media players.


Q: Can you convert M4V to MP4?

A: Of course, you can convert M4V to MP4. If you want to convert an unprotected M4V video to MP4, you can directly change the extension name, they'll still be MP4 containers. And most media players are smart enough to detect the file.


But if you buy some movies from iTunes and then want to strip the DRM, you may need an M4V to MP4 converter. Also, you may use TuneFab M4V Converter which professionally handles M4V DRM removing issues. After the converting process, you may experience better compatibility with an MP4 file. You don't have to worry that your software won't recognize the .m4v extension and fail to play the content.

Convert M4V to MP4 with TuneFab

Conclusion

To conclude, the distinctive difference between M4V and MP4 is that M4V is DRM-protected while MP4 is not. They both are container formats, so if you change the .m4v extension to .mp4 or vice versa, they don't affect your playback quality. But if you want to bypass the limitation of M4V, you may need a DRM removal software. Hopefully, this article may help shed some light on the M4V vs MP4 debate. Feel free to share your opinions.


Was this information helpful?