自从冠状病毒大流行以来,许多人都慷慨地从 iTunes Store 购买电影或租借电影。 观众可以在 iTunes 上租借或购买的电影通常具有高清和标清分辨率,以满足用户的独特需求。 是选择 iTunes 高清电影还是标清电影可能会令人困惑。 因此,为了获得更好的购买体验,您似乎有必要了解 iTunes HD 和 SD 电影之间的区别。

在下文中,我们将进行 iTunes HD 与 SD 的比较,让您了解两种分辨率规格之间的区别。 对于那些想知道他们是否可以从 iTunes HD 切换到 SD 的人也可能会找到答案。 之后,您可以了解有关从 iTunes HD 或 SD 电影中删除 DRM 的额外提示。

内容

第1部分。iTunes HD和SD之间的区别

一般来说,iTunes 高清和标清电影或电视节目在小屏幕设备上播放时是相似的。 但在大屏幕上播放时,它们的画质会更加鲜明。 这只是一方面。 下表将显示有关 iTunes HD 与 SD 的更多详细信息。

iTunes HD vs SD:简要比较

iTunes 标清 (SD) 电影

iTunes 高清 (HD) 电影

视频质量

480p(854x480)

720p(1280x720)

or1080p(1920x1080)

价格

$ 9.99 - $ 14.99

$ 14.99 - $ 19.99

文件大小

(2小时的电影)

2GB左右

约4GB(720p HD)

5GB 或更多(1080p 高清)

附加功能

CC(隐藏式字幕)或 SDH(聋哑人字幕)、AD(音频描述)

CC 或 SDH、AD、4K、Dolby Vision、Dolby Atmos、HDR 和 iTunes Extras(如果包括)

流媒体的 Internet 连接建议

确保您的 Wi-Fi 路由器与 802.11a/g/n/ac 兼容。 流式传输高清内容需要 8 Mbit/s 或更快的速度。

较慢的 Wi-Fi 连接层可能不够快,无法传输高清视频内容。

iTunes HD与SD:系统要求

作为基本的视频版本,标清视频绝对显示出更大的兼容性,以适应大多数设备。 相比之下,由于高清电影包含的像素和信息是 SD 电影的数倍,因此并非所有设备或计算机都支持高清电影。 以下信息可帮助您了解您的设备是否可以播放 720p 或 1080p 高清电影。

Windows

苹果系统

操作系统版本

32 或 64 位版本的 Windows 7、Windows 8 或 Windows 10

Mac OS X 10.5 或更高版本

iTunes 版本

iTunes 10.6 或更高版本

iTunes 10.6 或更高版本

处理器

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 或更快

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 或更快

内存

至少2 GB

至少2 GB

视频驱动程序

支持 HDCP(您可能需要与制造商核实以确定您的视频驱动程序是否支持 HDCP)

显示器

通过数字连接(DVI、DisplayPort 或 HDMI)支持屏幕分辨率为 1280 x 800 或更高的 HDCP

支持屏幕分辨率为 1280 x 720 或更高的 HDCP

此外,对于高清质量,iTunes 提供 720p 和 1080p 版本。 但值得注意的是,并非所有设备都支持 1080p 视频。 如果您可能下载不合适的版本,我们编制了支持 1080p 的 Apple 产品列表:

  • iPhone 6 Plus及更高版本

  • 第三代Apple TV及更高版本

  • 第三代iPad(可连接3x2048视网膜显示屏)和更新的版本

  • 所有MacBook

  • 的Mac Mini

  • iMacs 2006及更高版本

  • 任何支持1080p HD的HDTV也可以显示iTunes中的1080p内容。

第2部分。iTunes HD与SD:您应该选择哪个?

iTunes电影:HD与SD

HD 或 SD iTunes 电影是否更适合仍然取决于。 在画质方面,很多人可能认为高清电影的质量会比标清电影更好,因为高清电影的清晰度更高。 但对于那些使用智能手机或 iPad 观看 iTunes 电影的人来说,即使这些设备支持高清画质,在 iPad 或其他设备上观看高清和标清之间的体验也可能非常微妙,以至于人们可以忽略它。

如果您正在寻找经济的选择……

在价格方面,iTunes Store 中近一半的电影以相同的价格出售高清和标清。 其余的,价格是不同的。 具体来说,高清电影的售价通常在 14.99 美元到 19.99 美元之间,而标清版本的售价则在 9.99 美元到 14.99 美元之间。 差价超过5美元。 但对于租赁,大多数标清和高清电影之间只有 1 美元的差价。 一般来说,SD 版本具有成本效益。

如果您想要一些特殊功能...

也许您开始怀疑为什么 Apple 会为高清版本收取额外费用。 可能是因为在流式传输电影时传输高清内容比传输标清内容消耗更多的带宽。 额外的支出似乎并没有那么不合理。 一些高清版本确实包含许多突出的功能,例如 杜比视界, 杜比全景声, HDRiTunes Extras,值得一试。 此外,高清电影可以自动升级到 4K HDR 免费,如果您拥有兼容 4K 视频的设备,购买高清版本会更有吸引力。

总结

那么,总而言之,如果您打算在 iTunes 上购买您最喜欢的电影或电视节目之一以在高清播放器上观看,我们建议您应该购买高清版本。 它不仅提供了不错的视觉享受,还提供了宝贵的 iTunes 附加功能,其中可能包括 删除和备用场景, 导演评论,还有更多内容可以帮助您更好地了解电影的制作过程。 当然,您需要确保有足够的存储空间和良好的网络连接来保存这些高清电影。

如果您倾向于在电视上观看电影 小屏幕 苹果设备或电脑,显示器和iTunes播放器一般,或者不太在意画质水平,那么SD版本应该是一个有利的选择,这样你就不会在你并不真正需要的像素上浪费钱。 此外,对于那些喜欢 ,选择标清质量应该运行得更流畅,因为与流高清视频相比,它使用的流数据更少。

第3部分。如何在iTunes中从高清切换到SD?

要检查您购买的电影的视频质量,只需点按或单击库中的电影。 并查看页面顶部的 HD 或 SD 图标。

通常,当您从 iTunes Store 或 Apple TV 应用程序购买或租借电影时,该电影将自动以您正在使用的设备可用的最佳质量格式播放。 但万一你不小心下载了高清版本,发现它与你的设备不兼容,你可以在下载电影之前手动调整一些设置。

对于购买电影或电视节目的高清版​​本的用户,以下是如何切换质量较低的视频格式。

在iOS设备上:

在MyCAD中点击 软件更新 设置 > TV > iTunes视频或设置 > 视频 > iTunes视频

然后,您可以将播放质量从最佳可用更改为良好。

在Mac上

启动iTunes。 从计算机屏幕顶部的菜单栏中,选择 iTunes的 > 优先。 点击 下载中心 选项卡,然后选择 下载高质量的标清视频.

在PC上:

运行iTunes程序。 在iTunes窗口顶部的菜单栏中,单击 编辑 > 优先。 然后点击 下载中心 选项卡,然后选择 下载高质量的标清视频.

下载高质量SD视频

请注意: 单击播放选项卡,您还可以根据自己的喜好更改视频播放质量和分辨率。

更改视频播放质量

但是,如果您已经购买或租用了标清 (SD) 视频,则无法播放更高质量的版本,例如 1080p (HD) 或 4K 视频内容。 如果您正在考虑将 iTunes SD 电影升级到高清,遗憾的是,iTunes 没有提供升级到高清的选项。 然后,您需要重新购买电影的高清版本。

第4部分。额外提示:将iTunes M4V视频转换为MP4的有用工具

现在您可能知道 iTunes HD 或 SD 电影之间的主要区别。 此外,iTunes HD 和 SD 电影共享的一个共同特点是它们受到 Apple 的 FairPlay DRM 保护的保护。 也就是说,它们只能在获得授权的 Apple 设备或计算机上播放。 因此,如果您设法下载并在大屏幕电视或 Android 手机上播放这些 iTunes 高清或标清电影以供观看,您很可能无法做到。

不用担心在这里见面 TuneFab M4V转换器,帮助您打破DRM限制的专业工具。 使用这款智能 iTunes M4V 视频转换器,您可以将 iTunes HD 或 SD 电影转换为通用 MP4 格式,并在不受兼容性限制的任何设备上欣赏电影。

TuneFab M4V 转换器

您可以根据计算机系统选择合适的版本进行下载。 只需阅读本指南: 如何将 iTunes M4V 电影无损转换为 MP4 了解更多细节。

最后的话

查看此 iTunes Movies HD 与 SD 比较后,您可能会更好地了解这两种分辨率规格。 您决定购买哪个版本的 iTunes 电影了吗? 如果您觉得这篇文章有用,请不要忘记与您的朋友分享这篇文章。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 5 | 49
上一篇文章 在Chromecast上播放iTunes电影和电视节目以供观看的最佳方式[更新] 下一篇文章 如何在iTunes上购买电影? 您应该知道的一切[2020年版]

Support

Library

Glossary

Submit a Ticket

iTunes Movies: HD vs. SD - Tell Apart the Difference

By Kelsi Gillan

Updated on May 25, 2020

Since the spread of coronavirus pandemic, many people are being generous in purchasing movies or renting movies from the iTunes Store. Movies available for audiences to rent or buy on iTunes are usually in HD and SD resolution in order to meet users' unique demands. Whether to choose iTunes HD movies or SD movies can be confusing. Therefore, for a better purchase experience, it seems necessary for you to know the differences between iTunes HD and SD movies.


In the following, we will make an iTunes HD vs SD comparison to get you informed of the distinction between the two resolution specifications. For those who wonder if they can switch from iTunes HD to SD may also find the answer. After that, you can know an extra tip about removing DRM from iTunes HD or SD movies.



CONTENT


Part 1. Differences between iTunes HD and SD

Generally speaking, iTunes HD and SD movies or TV shows are similar when playing on small screen devices. But when playing on a large screen, their picture quality would be more distinct. This is just one aspect. The following chart will show more details about iTunes HD vs SD.


iTunes HD vs SD: A Brief Comparison

iTunes Standard Definition (SD) Movies

iTunes High Definition (HD) Movies

Video Quality

480p (854x480)

720p (1280x720)

or1080p (1920x1080)

Price

$9.99 – $14.99

$14.99 – $19.99

File Size

(a 2-hour movie)

Around 2GB

Around 4GB (720p HD)

5GB or more (1080p HD)

Additional Features

CC (Closed captions) or SDH (Subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing), AD (Audio descriptions)

CC, or SDH, AD, 4K, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR, and iTunes Extras (if included)

Internet Connection Recommendation for Streaming

Make sure that your Wi-Fi router is 802.11a/g/n/ac compatible. Streaming HD content requires 8 Mbit/s or faster.

Slower tiers of Wi-Fi connections might not be fast enough to stream HD video content.


iTunes HD vs SD: System Requirement

As a basic video version, SD videos definitely show greater compatibility to fit most devices. In contrast, due to the fact that HD movies contain multiple times the pixels and info of an SD movie, HD movies are not supported on all devices or computers. Here is the information that helps you find out if your device can play 720p or 1080p HD movies.

Windows

Mac OS

OS version

32 or 64-bit version of Windows 7,   Windows 8 or Windows 10

Mac OS X 10.5 or later

iTunes Version

iTunes 10.6 or later

iTunes 10.6 or later

Processor

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or faster

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or faster

RAM

At least 2 GB

At least 2 GB

Video Driver

HDCP capable (you may need to check   with the manufacturer to determine if your video driver supports HDCP)

Display

supports HDCP with a screen   resolution of 1280 x 800 or higher with a digital connection (DVI,   DisplayPort, or HDMI)

supports HDCP with a screen   resolution of 1280 x 720 or higher


Furthermore, for HD quality, iTunes offers 720p and 1080p versions. But it is worth noted that not all devices support 1080p videos. In case you may download the unsuitable version, we compiled a list of Apple products that support 1080p:

  • iPhone 6 Plus and later

  • 3rd generation Apple TV and later

  • 3rd generation iPad (which connects a 2048x1536 Retina Display) and newer

  • All MacBooks

  • Mac Mini

  • iMacs 2006 and later

  • Any HDTV that supports 1080p HD can also display 1080p content from iTunes.


Part 2. iTunes HD vs SD: Which Should You Choose?

iTunes Movies: HD vs SD

Whether an HD or SD iTunes movie is better for still depends. In terms of picture quality, many people may hold a view that the quality of the HD movies would perform better than the SD movies because HD movies get a higher definition. But for those who use smartphones or iPad to watch iTunes movies, even if these devices support HD quality, the viewing experience between HD and SD on iPad or other devices could be so subtle that people can simply neglect it.


If you are looking for an economical option…

When it comes to price, nearly half of the movies in the iTunes Store are sold at the same price for HD and SD. And for the rest, the price is different. To be specific, HD movies are often sold at around $14.99 to $19.99 while SD versions are sold from $9.99 to $14.99. The difference is upwards of $5. But for rentals, there's only a $1 difference between most SD and HD movies. In general, SD versions are cost-effective.


If you want some special features…

Perhaps you start to wonder why Apple charges extra for the HD version. Possibly, it is because delivering HD content consumes more bandwidth than delivering SD when streaming a movie. And the extra spending seems not that unreasonable. Some HD versions indeed include many highlighted features like Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR, and iTunes Extras, which worth giving a try. Besides, HD movies can be automatically upgraded to 4K HDR for free, which makes buying HD version more enticing if you have a 4K video compatible device.


Conclusion

Then, to sum up, if you are going to buy one of your favorite movies or TV shows on iTunes to watch on HD players, we suggest you should buy the HD version. Not only it provides a nice visual enjoyment but also the valuable iTunes extras that may include deleted and alternate scenes, director commentary, and a lot more to help you better know the making of a film. Of course, you need to ensure that you have enough storage space and a nice network connection to save these HD movies.


And if you tend to watch movies on the small screen Apple devices or computers with a mediocre display and iTunes player, or don't care much about the quality level, then the SD version should be a favorable choice, so that you will not waste money on pixels you don't really need. Besides, for those who prefer streaming, choosing SD quality should run more smoothly because it uses fewer streaming data as compared to streaming HD video.


Part 3. How to Switch from HD to SD in iTunes?

To check the video quality of your purchased movies, simply tap or click a movie in your library. And look at the top of the page for HD or SD icon.


Normally, when you buy or rent a movie from the iTunes Store or the Apple TV app, the movie will automatically play in the best quality format available for the device that you're using. But in case if you accidentally download the HD version and find it not compatible with your devices, you can manually adjust some settings before downloading a movie.


For those who buy an HD version of a movie or TV show, here is how to switch a lower-quality video format.


On iOS devices:

Go to Settings > TV > iTunes Videos OR Settings > Videos > iTunes Videos

Then you can change your playback quality from Best available to Good.


On Mac:

Launch iTunes. From the menu bar at the top of your computer screen, chose iTunes > Preferences. Click the Downloads tab, and select Download high-quality SD videos.


On PC:

Run the iTunes program. From the menu bar at the top of the iTunes window, click Edit > Preferences. And then click the Downloads tab, and choose Download high-quality SD videos.

Download High Quality SD Videos

Note: Click the Playback tab, you can also change your video playback quality and resolution based on your preferences.

Change Video Playback Quality

However, if you've already purchased or rented a standard definition (SD) video, you cannot play higher-quality versions such as 1080p (HD) or 4K video content. And if you are considering to upgrade iTunes SD movies to HD, pitifully, iTunes hasn't given an option to upgrade to HD. Then, you need to re-purchase the HD version of the movie.


Part 4. An Extra Tip: A Useful Tool to Convert iTunes M4V Videos to MP4

Now you may know the main differences between iTunes HD or SD movies. Besides, a common feature that both iTunes HD and SD movies share is that they are protected with Apple's FairPlay DRM protection. That said, they can only be played on Apple's devices or computers that are authorized with. Therefore, if you manage to download and then play these iTunes HD or SD movies on a big screen TV or Android phones for watching, it is likely that you fail to do it.


Don't worry. Here you meet TuneFab M4V Converter, a professional tool to help you break the DRM restriction. With this smart iTunes M4V video converter, you can convert your iTunes HD or SD movie to a universal MP4 format and enjoy the movie on any device free from the compatibility limit.

TuneFab M4V Converter

You can choose a suitable version to download according to your computer system. Just read this guide: How to Convert iTunes M4V Movies to MP4 Losslessly to know more details.


Final Words

After viewing this iTunes Movies HD vs SD comparison, you may form a better understanding of the two resolution specifications. Have you decided which version of the iTunes movies to buy? Just don't forget to share this article with your friends if you find it useful.


Was this information helpful?

Copyright © TuneFab Software Inc. All rights reserved.