关闭 夏季特卖 关闭 夏季特卖

从iTunes购买和下载高清电影时,经常会发现iTunes HD电影或电视节目提供720p和1080p两个版本,并且可以下载这两个版本。 在这种情况下,如何选择它们以进行离线查看? 更高的分辨率会始终提供更好的质量吗? 1080p电影真的适合您的设备吗?

在决定下载哪个文件之前,您可能需要花费一些时间来找出1080p和720p之间的差异。 然后,我们写这篇文章来彻底比较720p和1080p iTunes电影,并帮助您做出明智的选择。 您还可以知道如何切换从iTunes下载1080p高清电影。 阅读本文,可能会消除您的困惑。

内容

第1部分。iTunes 720p和1080p:差异和比较

720p是什么意思?

720p代表1280 x 720像素分辨率。 也就是说,它具有720条1280像素的水平线,并且是两个数字的乘积,总计921,600像素。 720p通常称为高清或“高清就绪”。 此分辨率也是高清的最低要求。

1080p是什么意思?

1080p也称为全高清,分辨率为1920像素x 1080像素。 换句话说,它的2,073,600条像素的1080条水平线有1920个像素,是720p视频内容中像素的两倍多。 1080p一直是流行的高清分辨率。

图片质量:越大越好

720p(高清)

1080p(全高清)

1280 x 720

1920 x 1080

像素在图像质量中起着重要作用。 这是因为清晰度,颜色和细节都存储在这些微型像素中。 用于图像信息的更多像素的存在使图像质量更加清晰,明亮和平滑。 从理论上讲,与1080p相比,720p分辨率显示的图像更细腻,图像质量更好。

但是,尽管具有视频内容分辨率,但是您的屏幕尺寸和就座距离也是影响观看720p或1080p电影时的观看体验的重要因素。 我们稍后再讨论。

iTunes电影720p和1080p图片质量

文件大小:1080p比720p占用更多空间

720p(高清)

1080p(全高清)

约5GB(用于140分钟的电影)

约6.5GB(用于140分钟的电影)

说到文件大小,1080p电影下载的文件大小可以比30p电影下载文件大720%。 文件大小与存储有关。 显然,更大的文件大小需要更多计算机或设备的存储空间。 因此,在犹豫要下载哪个文件时,应考虑文件大小和存储空间。

兼容性:720p> 1080p

一般来说,720p视频内容比1080p具有更好的兼容性。 特别是在较小的屏幕上,720p的表现与1080p一样。 但是,随着大量新型智能手机的连接,体面的显示器支持1080p,2K甚至是 4K 超高清,如果您更喜欢在智能手机上观看电影,最好使用1080p而不是720p。

但是,如果您倾向于在PC上观看iTunes电影,则720p应该是最佳选择。 在下载计算机之前,只需检查计算机是否能够播放1080p视频即可。

第2部分。iTunes 720p和1080p电影:优点和缺点

既然您可能已经知道iTunes 720p和1080p视频之间的区别,您可能仍然想知道哪种更适合您。 因此,我们在这两种分辨率之间编制了一个利弊图表。

    优点

  • 720p占用更少的存储空间。

  • 许多硬件支持720p。

  • 720p需要较少的CPU功率来解码。

  • 在iTunes或Apple TV应用中流式传输时,720p所需的缓冲区少于1080p。

  • 缺点

  • 720p的分辨率低于1080p。

  • 1080p具有更大的像素密度,可以使视频内容呈现出一流的细节。

  • 与1080p显示器上的720p视频相比,720p iTunes电影看起来更加清晰锐利。

第3部分。iTunes 720p和1080p电影:我应该下载哪个?

我可以看到720p和1080p视频质量之间的区别吗?

对于大多数人而言,在下载iTunes HD电影时,视频质量是其主要关注点之一。 许多人重视视频分辨率,并相信1080p视频始终可以提供更好的视频质量。 但是事实有点不同。 1080p不一定总是比720p好。 除分辨率外,视频还具有某些参数,例如 比特率, 质量比格式编码器 or 容器 用于确定其质量。

还需要提到的是,您可以购买所有可从iTunes Store下载的电影都经过压缩,以节省空间。 因此,在视频压缩过程中更改的任何参数都可能导致数据丢失。 在大屏幕上观看时,这种损失有些可见,否则,图像质量的损失就不明显。 例如,如果您在笔记本电脑大小的屏幕上播放电影,则720p和1080p之间的差异对于大多数人来说太小了。 但是,如果在大屏幕4K电视机上播放相同的视频,区别将变得更加明显。

您一站式解决方案 座位距离眼睛的分辨力 帮助您在一定程度上区分差异。 如果接近,是的,您可能会注意到差异,但是从更远的地方,也许您将无法分辨。

iTunes 720p与1080p的差异

简而言之,720p和1080p之间的差异并不是很大。 您在其中播放视频的较大屏幕可能会显示更好的视频质量。 结果,您可以在此大屏幕上发现两种分辨率之间的差异。 不过,如果您在普通显示器上观看,下载720p视频将是明智的选择,因为视频质量的差异可以忽略不计,并且可以节省更多的存储空间。

如何始终从iTunes下载1080p高清质量的电影?

您可能会遇到这样的情况,您已经升级到支持1080p的设备,并且想要购买和下载1080p电影以从iTunes上稍后查看,但是会得到720p的内容。 原因是从iTunes下载的电影默认设置为1080p分辨率。 因此,要获得1080p电影而不以720p结尾,您需要更改一些设置。

步骤1。 打开iTunes。

Mac用户: 选择 iTunes > 优先.

Windows用户: 选择 编辑 > 优先.

选择编辑和首选项

步骤2。 在 优先 窗口中,单击 资料下载 标签。

步骤3。 现在您应该拥有 下载完整尺寸的高清视频 复选框打勾,然后单击 OK 保存更改。 iTunes设置为尽可能下载1080p内容。

选择下载全尺寸视频

提示:

并非iTunes Store中的所有内容都可使用1080p格式。 就在 下载完整尺寸的高清视频 选项是说明,该程序将比1080p更喜欢720p。 有了该设置,您将可以在任何时间获得1080p高清内容。 如果不是,您将获得720p。


iTunes可能还会发出警报,通知您计算机可能无法播放1080p视频,但是您仍然可以下载这些视频以在其他设备上使用。


此外,如果您之前将计算机设置为下载质量较低的视频,请切换 下载完整尺寸的高清视频 不会自动将所有720p文件更新为1080p。 因此,您应该手动删除并重新下载1080p版本。

如何始终下载720p iTunes Video?

当您设置为下载iTunes HD电影而不是SD电影时,iTunes将自动提供720p版本供下载。 通常,如果要下载720p iTunes电影,则无需更改任何设置。

请注意:

也许您想让购买的电影或电视节目可以在iTunes外部(例如在电视,平板电脑和其他设备上)播放。 我们建议您将iTunes电影转换为通用格式,例如MP4。 那你可以试试 TuneFab M4V 转换器! 它可以将iTunes 1080p / 720p视频以其原始质量转换为MP4,转换速度提高30倍。

TuneFab M4V 转换器

结论

720p和1080p之间的区别在视觉上并不是那么强烈。 分辨率只是可能影响您观看体验的一个方面。 屏幕尺寸和观看距离也是使您能够消除差异但感知细节的因素。

这则信息有帮助吗?

信任评分 3 | 2
上一篇文章 了解iTunes视频格式(完整指南) 下一篇文章 M4V与MKV:如何在它们之间进行选择?
该网站使用cookies。

我们使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。点击“接受 Cookie”即表示您同意我们的 隐私政策.

否认

Support

Library

Glossary

iTunes 1080p vs.720p Video: What's the Difference

By Kelsi Gillan

Updated on May 25, 2020

When buying and downloading HD movies from iTunes, frequently, you can notice iTunes HD movies or TV shows provide two versions, 720p and 1080p, and the two versions are available to download. In this case, how to choose between them for offline viewing? Is higher resolution always delivering better quality? Is 1080p movie really suitable for your devices?


Before you decide which to download, you may take some time to figure out the difference between 1080p and 720p. Then we write this article to thoroughly compare the 720p and 1080p iTunes movies and help you make a judicious selection. You can also know how to switch download 1080p HD movies from iTunes. Read on this article and it may clear up your confusion.



CONTENT


Part 1. iTunes 720p vs 1080p: Differences and Comparison

What does 720p mean?

720p is short for 1280 pixels x 720 pixels resolution. That said, it has 720 horizontal lines of 1280 pixels, and multiple the two numbers for a total of 921,600 pixels. 720p is usually known as HD or "HD Ready". This resolution is also the minimal requirement for HD.


What does 1080p mean?

1080p, also referred to as Full HD, has a resolution of 1920 pixels x 1080 pixels. In other words, it has 2,073,600 pixels from its 1080 horizontal lines of 1920 pixels – more than twice as many pixels as you'll find in a 720p video content. 1080p has been a popular HD resolution for a while now.


Picture Quality: Bigger is Better

720p (HD)

1080p (Full HD)

1280 x 720

1920 x 1080


Pixels play an important role in image quality. This is because clarity, color, and detail are all stored in those mini pixels. The presence of more pixels used for image info makes the image quality much sharper, brighter, and smoother. And theoretically, 1080p resolution displays more detailed and better image quality than 720p.


However, despite the video content resolution, your screen size and seating distance are also important factors that can influence your viewing experience when watching 720p or 1080p movies. We'll talk about that later.

iTunes Movies 720p vs 1080p Picture Quality


File Size: 1080p Takes More Space Than 720p

720p (HD)

1080p (Full HD)

Around 5GB (for a 140 min movie)

Around 6.5GB (for a 140 min movie)


When it comes to file size, a 1080p movie download can be roughly 30% larger than the 720p one. And the file size is related to storage. Clearly, a bigger file size requires more storage of your computer or devices. Therefore, file size and storage space should be taken into consideration when you are hesitating about which one to download.


Compatibility: 720p > 1080p

Generally speaking, 720p video content enjoys better compatibility than 1080p. When it comes to smaller screens especially, 720p performs just as well as 1080p. But as loads of brand-new smartphones connect a decent display that supports 1080p, 2K, and even 4K Ultra HD, it is a good idea to go with 1080p instead of 720p if you prefer watching movies on your smartphones.


But if you are inclined to watch iTunes movies on your PCs, 720p should be an optimal choice. Just check if your computer is able to play 1080p videos before you download it.


Part 2. iTunes 720p vs 1080p Movies: Pros and Cons

Now that you may know the differences between iTunes 720p and 1080p videos, you may still wonder which is better for you. Therefore, we've compiled a pros and cons chart between the two resolutions.


    Pros

  • 720p takes up less storage space.

  • 720p is supported by much hardware.

  • 720p requires less CPU power to decode.

  • 720p requires buffers less than 1080p does when streaming in iTunes or Apple TV app.


  • Cons

  • 720p is lower resolution than 1080p.

  • 1080p has bigger pixel density that allows the video content to present superb details.

  • 1080p iTunes movie will look crisper and sharper than the 720p video on a 720p display.


Part 3. iTunes 720p vs 1080p Movies: Which Should I Download?

Will I be able to see the difference between 720p and 1080p video quality?

Video quality is one of the major concerns for most people when downloading an iTunes HD movie. Many people value video resolution and believe that 1080p videos always deliver better video quality. But the truth is a bit different. 1080p is not necessarily always better than 720p. Apart from resolution, videos have certain parameters such as bit rate, quality ratio, and format encoder or container used to determine its quality.


It is also needed to be mentioned that all the movies you can buy for download from the iTunes Store are compressed to save space. Therefore, any of the parameters altered during the video compression process may cause data loss. Some of this loss is visible when watching on a large screen, otherwise, the picture quality loss is unnoticeable. For instance, if you play a movie on a laptop-sized screen, the difference between 720p and 1080p is too small for most people to perceive. But if playing the same videos on a large-screen 4K TV set, the difference becomes much more obvious.


Your seating distance and the resolving power of your eyes help you distinguish the difference to a certain extent as well. If close, yes, you'll probably notice the difference, but from farther away, perhaps you won't be able to tell.

iTunes 720p vs 1080p Differences


To simply conclude, the difference between 720p and 1080p is not really big. The bigger screen in which you play the videos may display better video quality. As a result, you can spot the difference between two resolutions on this big screen. Still, it will be a smart choice to download a 720p video if you watch on an average display, as the difference in video quality will be negligible and you will save more storage space.


How to Always Download Movies in 1080p HD Quality From iTunes?

You may encounter a situation that you've already upgraded to a 1080p-supported device and want to buy and download a 1080p movie for a later view from iTunes, but you get a 720p content. The reason is that movies downloaded from iTunes are set at a resolution of 1080p by default. Therefore, to get a 1080p movie and not ending up with a 720p, you need to change some settings.


STEP 1. Open iTunes.

Mac users: select iTunes > Preferences.

Windows users: select Edit > Preferences.

Select Edit and Preferences


STEP 2. In the Preferences window, click on the Downloads tab.


STEP 3. Now you should have the Download full-size HD videos checkbox ticked, and then click OK to save changes. iTunes is set to download 1080p content whenever possible.

Choose Download full-size Videos

Tips:

Not all content in the iTunes Store is available in the 1080p format. Just beneath the Download full-sized HD videos option is a note that says the program will prefer 1080p over 720p. With that setting, you'll get 1080p HD content whenever it's available. If it's not, you'll get 720p.


iTunes may also send an alert informing that your computer may not be able to play 1080p videos, but you can still download these videos for use on other devices.


Besides, if you previously set your computer to download lower-quality videos, switching Download full-size HD videos will not automatically update all your 720p files to 1080p. So, you should manually delete and re-download the 1080p version.


How to Always Download 720p iTunes Video?

When you set to download iTunes HD movies instead of SD movies, iTunes will automatically offer the 720p version to download. Normally, you don't have to change any settings if you want to download 720p iTunes movies.


Note:

Perhaps you want to keep your purchased movies or TV shows playable outside iTunes, such as on your TV, tablets, and other devices. And we suggest you should convert iTunes movies to a common format such as MP4. Then you can try TuneFab M4V Converter! It helps covert your iTunes 1080p/720p videos to MP4 with their original quality at 30X faster conversion speed.

TuneFab M4V Converter


Conclusion

The difference between 720p and 1080p is not that visually drastic. Resolution is just one aspect that may affect your viewing experience. Screen size and viewing distance are also factors that enable you not to negate the difference but perceive the details.


Was this information helpful?

Copyright © TuneFab Software Inc. All rights reserved.